Nikon DSLR or Canon DLR work better with Macs?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by matthewcap, Jun 23, 2008.

  1. matthewcap
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #1
    Which brand will work better with macs? especially iPhoto or Aperture? Thanks.
     
  2. krye
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #2
  3. Zer0
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
  4. OreoCookie
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Location:
    Sendai, Japan
  5. MisterMe
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    You ask a good question, but ironically it excludes a significant difference between the two brands. I love Canon as a company, but I don't own a Canon digicam. I do own a Nikon D40. It is my understanding that Canon does not support USB Automount. Nikon does. If this is true, then Canons don't mount on the Desktop like removable drives. Canons work just fine in iPhoto and Aperture, but not in the Finder. Nikons work in everything.
     
  6. AlaskaMoose
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #6
    What is USB auto-mount? Since I have not idea of what it is, let me tell you what happens when I connect my Canon camera to my iMac: the camera immediately shows in the list of connected devises at the left of the screen, and also pops on the screen as a hard drive does. When I am done downloading/uploading photos, I can either turn the camera off, or eject it by placing it in the desktop trash can.
    ------------
    Ooops! Let me change something: I just connected my Canon camera to the computer, and it does show in iPhoto as a "Device," but it does not show on the desktop. If I use the card reader, then it shows on both iPhoto and the Desktop. I never paid attention to that until you mentioned it :)
     
  7. jampat
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #7
    If you are considering a brand of DSLR based on it's ability to interface with a mac, you seriously need to put more thought into your purchase. The camera will spend most of it's life out taking pics and very little attached to the computer. Even if it didn't interface at all, a $20 card reader would solve all of your problems. Buy an SLR system because that system takes pictures the way you want, has the lenses you want, feels good in your hand etc.. Just my two cents.
     
  8. JNB
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #8
    That's just a Finder Preferences setting whether a class of item shows up in the Sidebar, Desktop, neither, or both. You can also drag Finder items into the Sidebar independently.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. AlaskaMoose
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #9
    Thanks.

    I Just learned something new.
     
  10. anubis
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    #10
    My Canon Digital Rebel XT works perfectly with Aperture with both JPEGs and RAWs
     
  11. ChrisA
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #11
    Both the same. However, now and then Nikon or Canon will release a new model camera. There is always some lag time between the release of the camera and Apple supporting that model. So there might be months at a time when many Canon users are upset with Apple or other months when the Nikon users are upset with Apple.

    I'd choose a brand of camera based on the total system of bodies and lenses that you might want over the next several years.
     
  12. TuffLuffJimmy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #12
    Well said.
    When you look into an SLR system try to purchased based on the lenses you think you will stick with. The second thing to choose is the camera that works with those lenses. The 234239th is what sort of computers that camera will work with.
     
  13. leighonigar
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #13
    I don't think this will work - unless you're suggesting there's a class for things like the canon??
     
  14. marioman38
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    #14
    a DSLR would probably apply to the External Disk category...
     
  15. Hmac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #15
    I have a Canon point and shoot and a couple of Nikon dSLRs. They all work perfectly fine with my Macs. I can't think of any reason to pick a camera based on computer platform. Or vice-versa.
     
  16. BanjoBanker
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    BanjoBanker

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Mt Brook, AL
    #16
    Tuffluffjimmy made an excellent point. Make your choice based on the type of photography you will be doing and the lenses you will be using. Buy the best lenses you can afford. The camera body itself is not as important as the glass in front. I have a lens that cost considerably more than the D70 I use it with and it will work with the D300 I have on order and any other Nikon I may pick up. The lens is the important part of the equation, not compatibility with a Mac. :cool:
     
  17. Westside guy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #17
    I shoot Nikon - but I don't think this is a significant shortcoming on Canon's part. Most people couldn't care less if their camera shows up as a USB mass storage device. As a matter of fact, if you want to do tethered shooting you'll have to switch your Nikon into PTP mode anyway (that's the mode Canon uses).
     
  18. leighonigar
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #18
    Not Canon, as mentioned they use p2p. It's no big deal though.
     
  19. OreoCookie
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Location:
    Sendai, Japan
    #19
    I do find it nifty that I can use my D80 as a glorified card reader: when I want pictures printed, I copy them onto an SD card. It's not a big deal though. Certainly, I wouldn't base my purchase decision on it.
     
  20. Father Jack
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #20
    Use a card reader, it much faster at transferring images than connecting the camera and it doesn't make any difference what type of camera you are using.
     
  21. OreoCookie
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Location:
    Sendai, Japan
    #21
    That's not really significant for the amount of data I transfer. In any case, it's just a small thing I like.
     
  22. AlaskaMoose
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #22
    I use both a card reader and my Canon cameras. The canon software allows you to download/upload photos from computer to camera, as well as to erase the card in side the camera, as well as using the computer screen as a camera's viewfinder to take photos. I imagine that the Nikon software allows you to do the same.
     
  23. MisterMe
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #23
    Nikon develops several different software titles for the Mac. However, none are really needed. You can use the Finder to delete one of more images from the camera's flash card.
     
  24. AlaskaMoose
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #24
    That's true. I was talking about deleting images while the camera is connected to the computer, uploading photos from the computer to the camera, changing the camera's setting from the computer, or just using the computer screen to take photos with the camera. I am certain that the Nikon software has the same features.
     
  25. rogersmj
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #25
    Amen. You shouldn't be connecting your camera to your computer at all. Spend $20-$30 on a card reader...it's more convenient to not have to take your camera out of commission just because you need to read a memory card, and it won't drain your camera's battery.
     

Share This Page