Nikon Scan 4 makes me feel shame

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Keebler, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hi folks,

    I had a post last year asking about scanning software.

    I have silverfast for my Epson, but didn't (and still don't) feel like paying almost $400 for the version needed for my Nikon LS-5000.

    I don't like the lack of colour controls with Vuescan, which does look like a solid program.

    I do like Nikon Scan 4...in fact, I like the high degree of controls available, but
    OMG it is TERRIBLE on mac os x. It crashes more than any windows program ever did.

    So I became angry and loaded the windows version on my bootcamp partition.

    The result:

    the good: scanning without any issues. FANTASTIC!

    the bad: i feel shame for making my mac use windows when I'd really like to use mac os.

    I guess i should be just angry at nikon for not upgrading or fixing the bugs. I called them and they pretty much just don't care about this app.

    Granted, I understand that maybe these scanners aren't flying off the shelves, but shame on them for making such a crap program.

    <sigh> there I feel better now.

    Cheers,
    keebler
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    Yeah I think Nikon hasn't updated that scanning app for many years (last update: 06/14/2004). It's really awful. I guess I should try out the bootcamp solution.
     
  3. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #3
    From what I've seen ALL of Nikon's software runs poorly on the Mac with a very "un-Mac-like" user interface.

    I have the same opinion of Silverfast. Very poor on the Mac and I think they are STILL running under Rosetta and are not yet universal binary.

    I disagree with you about vuescan. It seems to work well for me. Get the "pro" version. It uses calibrated targets (Yes those targets are expensive, but they are lab grade devices that are tracable to a calibrated standard.) The proversion knows about color profiles and the like. The pro version is afordable too with very good licensing terms

    Look here for details
    http://www.hamrick.com/index.html
     
  4. AlaskaMoose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #4
    Try VueScan. It will amaze you. I have SilverFast, but not longer use it. I now use VueScan, because it's easy to learn how to use it, and does an outstanding job.
     
  5. Keebler thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    thanks Chris.

    for vuescan, when you mention calibrated targets, are you saying that provides more control before the scan or that is does a proper calibrated preview and scan?

    I do agree with the pricing on VS...very affordable.

    I think my problem is that I simply don't wan to take the time to really learn a new app, but maybe i need to spend time doing it.

    I do know that under this bootcamp with XP, the Nikon scan has been fantastic thus far.

    I'm like the shoemaker's family - always transferring videos and photos for clients, but never for my family :) So now, I'm spending some time trying to scan in my 35mm negs from when my wife and I started dating to now. Should be a neat movie by the time I'm done. :)

    Alaskamoose - completely agree with silverfast. It's fantastic on my PPc Dually G5, but terrible on my intel Mac Pro. :(

    Cheers,
    Keebler
     
  6. PCMacUser macrumors 68000

    PCMacUser

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    #6
    I run Nikon Scan 4 on my PC with a Coolscan V ED, and it's extraordinarily unstable. In fact a quick Internet search reveals that this is the case across both platforms. It seems that Nikon should just stick to making hardware and leave the software for someone else to make.

    Re: VueScan. I heard somewhere that it doesn't support Digital ICE. Is this really the case? Maybe I'll look it up.

    EDIT: I've since researched it, and VueScan does support Infrared dust removal but isn't licensed to use Kodak's Digital ICE technique. Whether this makes a difference, I'm not sure.
     

Share This Page