Nikon Transfer 2 opens with iPhone, iPad connecting to USB port.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Donson, Feb 14, 2015.

  1. Donson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #1
    Upgraded to the latest version of Nikon Transfer 2 and now it opens every time an iPhone or iPad is connected to the USB port. Do not want it to open unless I purposely open it.
    Tried everything to stop this but have not succeeded.
    Any ideas?

    Donson
     
  2. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #2
    Have you opened the App Image Capture and connected these devices to see which App they're set to open when connected?

    The prefs for doing this auto-open stuff are scattered all over, but Image Capture prefs seems to be a source of many such oddities.
     
  3. Donson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #3
    Have tried your suggestion but really do not understand what I should be looking for.

    Some additional info. that may help. When Nikon Transfer 2 was upgraded, it gave me the choice of auto-opening or not when a camera or SSD card was installed. It also said That feature could be turned off later if I so desired. I elected to have it auto-open for cameras and SD cards - it did not say anything about iPhones or Ipads.
    Now I cannot remember how to turn the auto-open feature off. It really would not bother me if it never auto-opened because I can always open it when necessary. As is it is a PIA whenever I connect my iPhone or iPads.
    Hope that helps.
     
  4. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #4
    I use Image Capture, which apparently preempts Nikon Transfer 2's settings.
    However, When I open up Nikon Transfer 2 and plug my camera in, it shows up in the Source pane of the Nikon Transfer window. Just above the camera button is a dropdown menu labeled "Search For". Checkable options include "Cameras" and "Removable Disk".
    The problem could well go away if you uncheck both those options.
     
  5. Donson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    "I use Image Capture, which apparently preempts Nikon Transfer 2's settings.
    However, When I open up Nikon Transfer 2 and plug my camera in, it shows up in the Source pane of the Nikon Transfer window. Just above the camera button is a dropdown menu labeled "Search For". Checkable options include "Cameras" and "Removable Disk".
    The problem could well go away if you uncheck both those options."

    I have been unchecking the "Cameras" and "Removable Disk" options to no avail. I can visually see that both checkmarks are visibly removed but Nikon Transfer 2 still comes up whenever I connect an iPhone or iPad - and both options are again checked. My method is to unckeck the two options , disconnect the iPhone, quit NT2, and then reconnect the iPhone. NT2 still comes up.

    Thank you for trying to help - it must be something I'm doing to cause this. I do not understand "Image Capture" . Mine lists my Canon Scanner and my iPad Air but not my iPad or iPhone. Do you know of some instructions on Image Capture that I can read and learn from?

    Thanks again.
     
  6. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #6
    There's some darn preferences hidden away somewhere that's doing it to you. You've checked the "CDs & DVDs" System Preferences pane?
     
  7. Ulenspiegel, Feb 14, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2015
  8. Donson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #8
    Thanks to both Partron22 and Ulenspiegel, I may be making some progress on this problem. Also learned that there are many others having this same problem.

    Working with Image Capture and iPhoto, I believe that my NT2 does now not open for any iPhone, iPad, or Nikon camera. I will have to open it whenever I want to use it - which is OK with me.

    I will give details on what changes I have made tomorrow as my head is spinning now and i'm tired of all this mess.

    Thanks to both of you for your help and interest in this problem.
     
  9. Ulenspiegel macrumors 68030

    Ulenspiegel

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Location:
    Land of Flanders and Elsewhere
    #9
    You are welcome. Please, let us know how it goes.
    I have been using Nikon software for many years and I am interested.
     
  10. Donson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #10
    Here's what I did:
    iPhoto - Preferences/General/Connecting Camera Opens: "No Application".

    Image Capture - Devices - My IOS device or Camera show up only when they are connected to the desktop USB port.
    When each is connected, it shows up in the left column.
    Click on each one that is connected (one at a time)
    Then, at the bottom of this page is an "Import To" box.
    I now have these configured as follows:
    Nikon Camera (D80 in my case) - "Nikon Transfer 2"
    iPhone 6+ - "Pictures"
    iPad - "Pictures"
    iPad Air - "Pictures"

    After doing this, Nikon Transfer 2 does not automatically open for any of the devices including the D80.
    Now I can connect any of the devices and then choose which program (if any) I want to open.

    Example: Connect the iPhone thru a USB port - no other program automatically opens. Then I can choose one if I need to or just charge it without any program getting in the way.
    I have not extensively checked this out but so far it seems to work to my satisfaction.

    Thanks again for your help.
     

Share This Page