nMac Pro- can it run oculus rift in windows?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rondocap, Apr 23, 2017.

  1. rondocap macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #1
    ive read one or two threads that discuss this possibility, but as of today, could a newer Mac Pro effectively run vr and oculus rift in boot camp mode?

    Or is that just a pipe dream?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    From memory, D700 is OK, some hardware test will say no, simply because the hardware is not on their white list. However, actual test shows it's totally possible.
     
  3. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #3
    It will fail the compatibility check or whatever it's called, but runs everything like a champ. Same on HTC Vive.

    Also, Steam / HTC are releasing a Linux & Mac VR beta sometime in the next few months.
     
  4. rondocap thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #4
    Interesting, it's hard to find information online about this.

    I got a MSI GS43 laptop just for Oculus Rift, with a 1060 nVidia. My main system is a 2010 5.1 Mac Pro.

    I was thinking of getting the 2013 newer Mac Pro, only thing keeping me back was the VR.

    Would the D300 or D500 work at all? Or just go for the D700?

    No chance my 2010 Mac Pro would run Oculus Rift right? Maybe external video card and some type of PCIE USB 3.0 card?
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    I think it's easier to make the 5,1 run VR. Just plug in a high end Nvidia GPU and you are good to go. Of course, CPU still limiting, however, most VR ops should be still very GPU limiting at this monent. The 3.46 GHz CPU may not able to give you 144FPS, but something like 90FPS is totally possible. I ran my 4,1 with just a 7950 and still can pass the VR test, not at the top score of course, but the result is at the playable range. By the way, it's also very easy to get USB 3.0 on the cMP.
     

Share This Page