nMac Pro Running display at 1440p instead of 2160p

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by edry.hilario, Jul 18, 2017.

  1. edry.hilario macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #1
    Hi Folks,

    I took the plunge and ordered the LG 5k display and I've been using it on my mac pro late 2013. I Just noticed that in apple documentation says " With the Apple Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to Thunderbolt 2 Adapter and a Thunderbolt cable, you can use the LG UltraFine 5K Display at 4K (3840 x 2160 @ 60Hz) and lower resolutions with these Mac models: Mac Pro (Late 2013)". But When I go check the "system report" it says that the LG is running at 1440 instead of 2160. Is there any way to fix that? i am using apple's thunderbolt adapter so idk whats going on. This was also highted over on the snazzylabs channel check the video below


     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  3. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #3
    System report indicates only the scaled resolution, hold 'Alt' in the monitor control panel when clicking resolution and you will see the if it's unscaled or scaled.
     
  4. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    The Mac that he showed in the Apple Store was scaled down to 1440p. You can use Applications like SwitchResX to get true 5k (5120x2880) but unfortunately text will be really small since apple wont scale aftermarket displays in the same way that they do on the 5k iMacs (Retina space scaling)
     
  5. edry.hilario thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #5
    Really? so you are saying that it is running it at 2160p scaled down to 1440? because when I switch it, it is still saying 1440 don't know if it showed that way because I was using SwitchResX. Is it better to create your own custom resolution? because it is not pixel doubling correctly since it should be 5k to 1440 that is the correct pixel doubling.
     
  6. Synchro3, Jul 18, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2017

    Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #6
    Yes, system info:

    sys.png

    Monitor control panel (Hold 'Alt' when clicking 'scaled')

    mon.png

    My monitor (Asus PB279 4K display):

    moni.png
     
  7. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    It's running at 5k scaled down to 4k. But it's rendering HiDPI (which is 2x). Half of 2880 is 1440.

    Your desktop is 2560x1440, rendered as Retina at 5120x2880, downscaled and output at 3840x2160.

    You're looking at a 5k output image rendered on a 4k screen.

    Apple has configured the 5k Ultrafine to be handled this way out of the box so even on an older machine you still have a "5k" desktop.
     
  8. edry.hilario thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

Share This Page