nMP 2013: Got played by the SMC

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by th0masp, May 14, 2019.

  1. th0masp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Location:
    germany
    #1
    nMP 2013: 6 month old machine that has run flawless so far. Out of the blue it wouldn't come back on when trying to wake it from sleep. After power-cycling I could not get it to even play the start chime and after a bit of panic realised there was a slowly blinking red LED inside the case. Googled a bit and found the tip to reset the SMC - which brought it back to life! F*ck yes! :)

    Question is what is screwing with the SMC that would cause such an issue - and are there any hints in the log files to diagnose what went wrong and in the future spot issues early and prevent it from doing that (to my heart rate)?
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    If it’s a single random incident, don’t panic. Just like any electronic device, an occasional error can occur that throws a monkey wrench into normal operations. Just keep an eye on it for a while... It was likely nothing..
     
  3. th0masp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Location:
    germany
    #3
    Well if this was a place suffering from dodgy wiring, power outages, extreme temperature changes or the like I might understand but no other machine I've ever had has pulled a stunt like this on me. Is there any info out there what this SMC does, monitors and where/if it reports its status?

    Admittedly I'm a little lost with the Sierra+ event logging system. Hard to find anything with the new Console.app.
     
  4. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    I do have some basic knowledge about SMC’ in MACs in general, but it’s far too little for me to attempt to give you that information with any degree of certainty that it’s accurate.

    There are others on this forum who are really knowledgeable about these, and hopefully one will jump in here soon.

    I too have conditioned power, but have still needed to reset the SMC on occasion. Ideal power condition doesn’t eliminate the possibility that you may need to reset. I’d like to expound a little but my personal speculation has no place here.
     
  5. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    Thomas, if you are still looking for more information on this, I would reach out to @CodeJingle to pick his brain a little. He probably know a lot more about this than most.
     

Share This Page

4 May 14, 2019