nMP 2013 graphics card failure

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by puckhead193, Mar 23, 2015.

  1. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    I've been noticing on my my screen the video signal becomes scrambled on the top left. I was worried that my graphics card (D700s) were failing. I took it to apple and while they didn't notice it they did noticed some green lines on the screen. So my question, how likely is it that within just over a year my graphics card are failing already?
    I do use FCPX almost 5 days a week on it, but isn't this machine built for FCPX.

    Have there been a high failure rate for these? Glad I have apple care!
     
  2. maplingstorie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #2
    but they are workstation graded gpus!? The GPU drivers in Mac OS X is very unoptimised and outdated imo. Apple needs to release an update for the GPU drivers. Hopefully it will come with 10.10.3 :p
     
  3. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    Run something intensive like Uningine Valley at "Extreme HD" preset. A GPU on edge will typically go freaky on such a thing. If it does, off to the Apple Store.

    I am certain Apple cherry-picked the 7970 cores in those, then ran them at lower clocks & voltages, thus lower temps so in theory they should have long life.

    But if they are dying, get it over with. Much like a car, they won't "get better" until they get fixed.

    If it is just a driver issue they will probably get through Uningine. Confirm by using a different OS install, Windows would be ideal, completely different drivers.

    The finest electronics in the world aren't immune from failure. Once a month or so I have an e-recycler guy come pick up all the dead cards I get stuck with, so trust me, they DO die.
     
  4. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #4
    But it was built with thermal throttling and is slightly less than full workstation, it won't run the processor AND the GPUs at full load. All to fit in the small form factor and smaller PSU envelope.

    Under Windows both GPUs and cpu can be pushed to the max.

    Makes the Classic Mac Pro more popular when you can push and upgrade and configure to your needs.
     
  5. MacMutsch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #5
    OS X 10.10.3 (beta) already contains some GPU driver updates, e.g. the LG 31MU97 can now be used @ 60 Hz (instead of 50 Hz) with both the R9 280X as well as the D500.

    Nevertheless - as already said, if I want to use those graphics cards with their full capacity I have to use Windows (I’m using Bootcamp), that’s also the only way to use CrossFire .
     
  6. maplingstorie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #6
    yea. unless AMD makes a catalyst control software for the mac :p
     

Share This Page