nMP+6 Monitors: Various Issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rriley, Feb 22, 2014.

  1. rriley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    #1
    I got up at 2:00AM in order to be one of the first to order the nMP back in December. It arrived in January and by that time I had received the six Apple TBolt monitors.

    The monitors do not actually work if they are daisy chained, they must each be plugged in to one of the six TB ports or they will not work. Yes, I did test various methods of chaining, and yes, I did have conversations with support who has not gotten back to me with any comments or suggestions.

    An additional problem with using six monitors is that if you have a number of screens active (such as in a trading application) and you exit the program, when you reinitialize the same program the screens come up on various different screens than the ones that were being used when the program was shut down so you have to move them around every time you bring that program up. Support and I tried various configuration alternatives but couldn't find a solution. This same problems occurred with the previous MacPro system factory supplied with two x 3 port cards. When used with six 30" monitors the screen contents did not retain their positions.

    And one more thing. If you picture six monitors in two rows of three monitors each, each of the three (vertical) pairs of monitors requires a structure to support the monitors so if you have three sets of two monitors there are three hefty supports behind those screens. The thunderbolt cables are fixed to the monitors, not removable. These cables are short enough that finding a place to put the nMP in order to be able for all six monitor cables to reach the ports is a big problem since you have the monitor supports behind the monitors. I was able to place the nMP with no extra cable to spare but the cables are really too short and there are no extension thunderbolt cables that I am aware of.
     
  2. applegeek897 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #2
    I understand that only a additional thunderbolt display can be connected to another. So for example 3 plugged into the Mac Pro and then a display on each one of them.
     
  3. CH12671 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Location:
    Southern US
    #3
    Maybe they disabled that for the nmp since it would leave more ports available for displays than the nmp supports? Just a guess. This sucks because you have to plug your tb peripherals into the tbd, and therefore lose the tb2 functionality
     
  4. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #4
    OP are you seeng these issues in OSX, right? What about windows?
     
  5. chfilm macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Mhh but at least having two TB displays daisy chained via one port works perfectly fine!
     
  6. rriley thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    #6
    Yes, that's what I understood but testing with the Apple support rep showed that with six monitors, all had to be plugged in to separate ports.

    ----------

    OSX. Windows was not tested.

    ----------

    Yes, I have used two TB displays with my MacBook and all three displays are fine.
     
  7. michael_aos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    #7
    I used an older Apple mini-DisplayPort Display hanging off a Seagate Thunderbolt adapter connected to an Apple Thunderbolt Display on my Late 2012 Mac Mini.

    Mini-Displayport extension cables are common / inexpensive as well.

    The older Apple mini-displayport displays look very similar (aesthetically) to the Thunderbolt Display.
     

Share This Page