nMP and 5k?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by chfilm, Jun 4, 2014.

  1. chfilm macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Hey,

    given the latest iMac rumors.. do you guys think the nMP would be able to handle a display with such a resolution with his dual gpus?

    Could TB2 even push the data needed through?
    If apple comes out with a display like that later this, or next year, I don't want to have to buy a nnMP already :D
     
  2. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #2
    I thought that the Tube only uses a single graphics card (under Apple OS), and the second GPU is for OpenCL only.
     
  3. iBug2 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #3
    TB2 cannot push that data. But the GPU's can easily handle 5K.
     
  4. kwijbo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    #4
    +1, a single TB2 stream is not enough.

    24 bpc * 5120 * 2880 * 60hz = 21.2 Gbps

    Dual TB2 could work but is not exactly an elegant solution. If a new iMac/TB Display does end up using that resolution maybe a driver update could enable compatibility with the nMP.
     
  5. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #5
    It'd probably disable or cripple one or two of the unused TB ports while you were doing it, too. There are only 3 controllers.
     
  6. chfilm thread starter macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    Meeeehhhhh they have to find a way to make this work. Otherwise this whole 4k marketing thing for the nMP would proof itself pretty worthless for me..
     
  7. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #7

    There's also Displayport which is IN Thunderbolt that simply can't dive that yet. DP 1.2 ( 17.2b Gb/s) manages Ultra HD & 4K at 60Hz, but if it can run 5K it'll probably be around 30Hz.

    Displayport 1.3 managed up to 8K, or 4K 3D over a single cable, which will most likely be in TB3.
     
  8. chfilm thread starter macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Great! But is the information about the capabilities of TB2 really solid?

    I guess Time will tell. I wouldn't be surprised if they came out with a new mac pro with TB 3 early next year, together with such a 5k display.
    It would be really annoying though!!!
     
  9. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #9
    Depends on when Intel get TB3 ready for prime time, although that 40Gb/s bandwidth looks mighty fine.

    Although new connector type I heard.
     

Share This Page