nMP and power strips /UPS

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by puckhead193, Mar 25, 2014.

  1. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    I'm about to finally settle into my updated office space and was wondering what everyone is using in terms of power strips/UPS? I want something with at least 10 outlets.

    Thanks.
     
  2. snouter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #2
  3. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    Thanks.

    I guess I should add what I plan to attach

    nMP
    monitor (NEC PA272W)
    speakers (altec lansing fx6021) for now maybe audio engine A2s
    1 G-tech thunderbolt drive
    1 G-tech RAID
    SxS memory card reader
    matrox MX02 mini
    cable modem
    airport extreme
    landline cordless phone for said cable modem

    Down the line a might add a second monitor (20" inches or so)
     
  4. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #4
    So does the APC SmartUPS 1500 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16842301289).

    This has 8 outlets.

    If you connect a power strip to a UPS, do not use a power strip with surge protection - get the cheapest quality dumb strip that you can find.
     
  5. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #5
    I have been using an APC SmartUPS 1500 for a few years now. I have to replace the battery once, but other than that it has served me well...

    All my essential gear is hooked up and I have approximately 20 min. of run time:

    NetGear ReadyNAS Pro (6 HDD)
    AirPort Extreme
    Airport Time Capsule (3TB)
    AirPort Time Capsule (2TB)
    Mac Pro 3,1

    The ReadyNAS will shut down by itself gracefully in case of power outages over 10 min., and because I have the network on the UPS, I can shot down everything else as well using one of my laptops if necessary.
     
  6. SnoFlo macrumors regular

    SnoFlo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #6
  7. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #7
    Batteries are expendable...

    Batteries have a limited lifetime - any UPS will need to have its batteries replaced at the end-of-life.

    A strong argument for APC UPS is that when the battery dies, you will most likely decide that the right option is to replace the battery - not the UPS. They have a nice replacement program, with return shipping for the old battery to be recycled.

    I wouldn't buy any other brand UPS even if it were half the price of APC.
     
  8. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #8
  9. CptSky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #9
  10. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #10
    APC makes great UPS, but it isn't the only company whose products accept replacement batteries. And it is generally more cost effective to buy batteries from a battery supplier anyway. Just sayin'.
     
  11. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #11
    If you do not live in the US these replacement programs are not necessarily readily available. In Europe we can trust APC to help you out, but not really the others...
     
  12. Michael73 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    #12
    I'd had a CyberPower 1500AVRLCD with has 8 outlets for a year or two and it's been flawless. I went through the whole "pure sine wave" and "simulated sine wave" debate so I called a friend who is an electrical engineer and works for a company that builds and maintains power networks. His conclusion is that it makes no difference in this case. Long term if you were going to run the computer purely from a battery it *might* make a difference but to power it only occasionally during interruptions and for short periods of time, no.

    BTW, plugged into my UPS is:
    • nMP
    • 30" ACD
    • Drobo 5D
    • External USB3 Enclosure
    • Canon CanoScan 5600F scanner
    • Monsoon 2.1 Speakers

    As you may have figured out, most UPSs have a mix of outlets are either battery AND surge or just surge only. If all you need is enough juice to save and shut down, then looking at your list you may only need battery AND surge for about 4 or 5 of the items. As someone else mentioned, you could go with a 8 outlet rig and plug a simple power strip into one of the existing surge only outlets to get the extra plugs you need.
     
  13. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #13
    There are at least two problems with this analysis.

    One, it assumes that you're at the computer and able to shutdown as soon as the power fails. That might be valid for many users (save and close the open apps), but for systems running services it can be a problem - unless the UPS signals the OS to shutdown the services will simply drop off without a clean shutdown.

    Second, most of the time the power is only off for a handful of seconds to a few minutes. You don't want to do a panic shutdown only to have the power come back 5 seconds after you panic - especially if the UPS has 15 minutes of backup power.
     
  14. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #14
    Thanks for the suggestions everyone. Who knew buying a ups could be so confusing :eek:
     
  15. snouter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #15
    I went with the CyberPower.

    $120 cheaper than the APC. Batteries are replaceable. Good reviews anywhere I looked for them.

    The main thing I'm looking to protect against is the power dipping out and back in, especially with summer coming.
     

Share This Page