nMP crashing playing Starcraft in Windows

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by austinpike, Jan 23, 2016.

  1. austinpike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    #1
    I've got a 6,1 (12 core D300) at work that I tote home on the weekends for entertainment purposes. I have Windows 8,1 installed on an external thunderbolt drive with a few games. Seems that when the Starcraft action gets hot and heavy it will shut down. When it does, it feels quite a bit warmer than whenever I'm doing work on the Mac side. My daily work doesn't really stress the GPU - it is mostly CPU-based 3D rendering.

    So I'm wondering if the drivers aren't set up to cool the thing as well in Windows, or if the machine really just isn't able to handle Starcraft. (!)

    Obvious troubleshooting step would be to install Starcraft on the Mac side and try it there, but I'd rather keep OSX for work and Windows for entertainment. I'll probably do it anyway out of curiosity, but thought I'd check here for other people's experiences using the nMP for gaming.
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    If it's cooling problem, then you don't need any games. Run Luxmark V3 stress test can easily stress both D300. And there are plenty of way to stress the CPU as well.

    You can do them in both Windows and OSX. If your nMP survive in those tests, then it's the games problem.

    If it can't survive, then you know your Mac may be defective. Or if it only have problem in Windows etc.
     
  3. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #3
    why don't you play it on mac version?
     
  4. thornslack macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #4
    SCII is primarily a CPU bound game and has never thermally taxed my gpu. My experiences are on a cMP with NVIDIA hardware however.

    Maybe double check your Radeon drivers or watch the CPUs in task manager or some other monitoring software to see their temps. Is crossfire in effect? I want to say I have vsync on or adaptively enabled on that title to avoid pushing too many frames, which will also drive up temps. I think the blizzard launcher can verify the integrity of the game files to rule out corruption as a possible issue. Lastly, it runs much worse in OS X. Expect a major fps drop, although it could offer insight into your problem.
     
  5. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #5
    Shut down as in, you're playing SCII and suddenly the computer shuts off?
     
  6. austinpike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    #6
    I think the last time I used it, it was maybe extreme frame stutter/hanging rather than a full shutdown, but yes the computer has just shut off a couple times.

    I'll check the drivers; crossfire is enabled in the control panel. I'll try HWmonitor for temp next time I use it.

    I'm not overly concerned as it works fine on a daily basis (which uses all CPU cores to ~100%.) The gaming use is pretty infrequent, so not high on my list of things to troubleshoot. But if there is a hardware flaw I should probably get it figured out. Luxmark on both OSs sounds like a good idea. Thanks for the input everyone.
     
  7. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #7
    That's interesting because that happened to me once (cMP 5,1, Titan X) during SCII's final level which is quite insane.
    Afterward I used Nvidia Inspector to lower the power to 90% (225W) and had no problems the next time.
    That's the only time it ever happened, so I'm wondering if it's something to do with the game itself.
     

Share This Page