nMP D300-500-700 in photoshop display smoothness

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Agentsmurf156, Feb 24, 2017.

  1. Agentsmurf156 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    #1
    Hi there, can anyone shed some light on the speed of the nMP in Sierra. I am talking about general smoothness specifically photoshop. I have a new MacBook Pro 13inch on a 4K display and it jerk and stutters when panning, also in the OS even things like youtube when you click fullscreen, it doesn't scale smoothly its takes 3 bites to go from windowed to full screen but the playback is smooth, its driving me crazy!

    I need to get a machine to run a virtual machine, a image rip server and the still handle my normal image editing work.

    I can't handle the choppiness of the current MacBook Pro 2016 touch, I had a 2015 15inch and it was great. Whats with apple these days?

    Anyway back to the topic, please any feedback on performance with 4K screens in daily tasks, not rendering and suchlike would be appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #2
    I run my dell 4K display on my Mac Pro, has D700 and smooth as . My issue is that the 4K display is only 60hz , my gaming monitor is 120 and it feels so much smoother.
     
  3. now i see it macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    #3
    This is all very amusing.
    My old 1996 300 MHz G3 power mac with 64 MB RAM running OS8 scrolled Photoshop perfectly. Smooth as silk. So much for progress.
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    I will be amazed if that's running Sierra + Adobe CC 2017
     
  5. now i see it macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
  6. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #6
    If you're using chrome, disable hardware acceleration. That will most likely fix it. Photoshop has some ability to tune gpu use as well. Certain frameworks can be disabled. Also check activity monitor, because this kind of behavior is common when you're low on ram.

    Lastly, if you only just purchased it (or just reinstalled the OS for some reason), make sure it isn't still indexing.
     
  7. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #7
    Ah the days of VGA graphics and no live scrolling.
     
  8. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #8
  9. beepp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    #9
    This is common with Photoshop. I has something with tabs. When you switch them off (F key) panning is pretty smooth.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    switch off Rulers may help a lot (Command + R).
     

Share This Page