nMP display resolution issue 2560x1600

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by akrantz, Jan 9, 2014.

  1. akrantz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys,

    Just got my nMP today and I can't seem to figure out how to get my Dell 30" motor to display at its full resolution of 2560x1600. The option just isn't there win the display settings. I have tried connecting it with an HDMI cable and mini display port to dvi adapter. Any help would be greatly appreciated.


    Thanks
    -A
     
  2. bvhmac1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    #2
    If your display has a displayport or mini-displayport connection, use that instead of DVI or HDMI.
     
  3. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #3
    If you don't have a mini-displayport input, you'll need to get a MDP to dual-link DVI adapter. The single-link DVI adapter you have isn't capable of driving the full resolution.

    Apple has one and monoprice.com does also.
     
  4. akrantz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #4
    Unfortunately it does not have a mini display port and I don't have an adapter for the display port that will work with a nMP.

    ----------

    Ah ok awesome. Thank you.
     
  5. akrantz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #5
    I can confirm that this does fix the problem. Thanks again.
     
  6. Rad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #6
    Adapter

    I just got my nMP and also have a Dell 30". I use a simple mini-DP to full size DP adapter from Amazon. Inexpensive and avoids the need for an additional dual ink DVI cable.
     
  7. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #7
    Those really are the best solution in most cases. It's irritating to troubleshoot if you have a long string of adapters. Just to mention this, with DVI, you would have needed a dual-link cable to use that kind of resolution. For displays with displayport or mini-displayport, that is more money for an inferior solution.
     
  8. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
  9. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #9
    Yes it can but many hdmi ports on monitors actually only do 1080p or 1200p even when the monitor has a higher native resolution. I know for a fact the dell 2713hm will only do 1080p on the hdmi port
     
  10. akrantz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #10
    Aside from being more expensive, why is it inferior?
     
  11. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #11
    Good to know, currently I have a Dell 27" monitor hooked up to my MBP with a DVI Cable, I thought switching to HDMI when my nMP arrives will solve the lack of DVI port, guess I'll have to check the ports again.
     
  12. tillsbury macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #12
    I use a mini-DP to DP cable on my Dell 30". Cost $6 from ebay.
     
  13. cinealta macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #13
    You need a mini-DisplayPort to *Dual-Link* DVI adapter along with a DVI cable to the Dell.
     
  14. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #14
    Personal bias:D. Some displays with DDC calibration features won't work reliably over DVI, which makes me dislike it. Some other display features don't work over DVI. It's often the case with 10-bit output. It's mostly that if your machine and computer both support that natively, it should be the best choice. DVI is there on most displays for legacy purposes. If it has to be hooked up to a machine without displayport, then use dvi. I always avoid conversions whenever possible. Thunderbolt ports on a computer are backwards compatible with displayport 1.1, so it is possible to connect a displayport display to a thunderbolt port using a displayport to mini displayport cable.
     
  15. Rock Hound macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    #15
    I have a pair of Dell 30" monitors (u3011, u3014) hooked to my nMP. The Minidisplayport to Displayport cables are certainly the most elegant solution for a Thunderbolt connection.

    The u3014 ships with a MDP to DP cable. For the u3011, I sprung for the pricier Accel cable from Amazon because a lot of people reported that the cheaper cables tend to crap out. YMMV!
     
  16. bcuzawd macrumors member

    bcuzawd

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    #16
    Ha! Goes to show how old my 3007 is. I only have the dual-link DVI available. No mDP connection.

    I have been using it for 4 years (have had monitor for 7) on the mDB --> DL-DVI adapter just fine...aside from when the LCD inverter went out and I had to replace it.

    I use a 27" Cinema display at work and, while it's nice...when I get home to my 30"...it just feels so much better.;)
     
  17. jasonvp macrumors 6502a

    jasonvp

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #17
    As has already been discussed, the dual-link DVI adapter will also have to be an active one, which draws extra power from a USB connection as well. It's really a poor and inelegant solution.

    There's no way to convert MDP or Thunderbolt to dual-link DVI with full resolution without extra juice.
     
  18. akrantz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #18
    Makes sense, I ordered a MDP to DP last night on Amazon because I would prefer a less clunky solution. The Dual link DVI adapter will have to do for now I guess.

    Thanks again for all the help guys. the nMP is a big step up from my 2009 mp
     
  19. cinealta macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #19
    Ok. Thanks for the clarification.
     

Share This Page