nMP graphics glitch?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by impay, Apr 7, 2014.

  1. impay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #1
    This happens sometimes. It only happens when there are a lot of graphics intense things are open at once (+4 rhino files, indesign, photoshop). Other than that it is hard to predict. It happens all over my screen, and it has happened on both monitors I have running. It happens in a different place every time. Restart seems to fix. Everything is running fine besides the weird pixel annoyance.

    4core, 16gb memory, D300.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jerryrock macrumors 6502

    jerryrock

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NY
    #2
    What is the resolution of the monitor and how is it connected?
     
  3. impay thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #3
    one monitor is an older 19" HP LP1965 at 1280 x 1024, the other is a 24" viewsonic VA2431 at 1920 x 1080. Both are connected to TB2 via DVI.

    Interestingly enough, I just unplugged one to see that would happen, and the problem vanished, even when I reconnected the cable.
     
  4. Johnsyounger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #4
    You know I have seen a similar bug when I boot up, but only in the top left corner of one Thunderbolt Display. But only when it's booting...
    I have 2 thunderbolt displays and nMP 8,d500
     
  5. impay thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #5
    that's interesting because I thought it may have been A)the D300's couldn't handle everything or B) the software was causing it (rhino is still Beta...) but maybe that isn't the case
     
  6. Cubemmal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #6
    I think it's their graphics drivers. Ever since they made the changes for AirPlay glitches like this have shown up. Safari seems to bring it out for some reason.
     
  7. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #7
    What kind of cable are you using to connect the nMP to your monitor?

    I encounter similar problem but it's only temporarily and usually it's a horizontal line
     
  8. Foxdog175 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #8
    I see the exact same thing - a graphical artifact during bootup in the top left corner of one monitor (usually the one that's set as my "main" monitor). I have 30" (via Apple's mini display to dual-link dvi) and 20" (via Apple's mini display to dvi) Apple Cinema Displays.

    12c/d700/1tb
     
  9. elvisizer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose
    #9
    could be the GPU, the cable, or drivers.
    I'd swap the cables between the displays, see if the problem stays where it was or follows the cable.
     
  10. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #10
    All my graphical glitches with Macs in recent years have come from using mini display port to DVI cables and they have been resolved every time by re-inserting the cable. Makes me think it's the fact the connections have no lock. Rare it happens on an Apple cable, although I've seen it, but pretty common on 3rd party ones (multiple vendors).

    Seen it on Macbook Airs, Macbook Pro 13", Macbook Pro 15" and Mac Minis.
     
  11. impay thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #11
  12. analog guy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #12
    i have observed the same thing with a TBD and nMP 6c,d500. doesn't happen on my LED ACD, only the TBD.
     
  13. lupinglade macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    #13
    If that is a screenshot and not a photo, it is indicative of a driver or video card/video memory error. It is not the monitor or cable.
     
  14. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #14
    Hmm, not the same cable.

    My situation usually happens after the computer wakes up from sleep, and it doesn't happen all the time.

    For my situation at least, I feel it's related to the cable as when I connect using a Mini Displayport to DVI or HDMI to my monitor I never encounter such issues. Only with the Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort
     
  15. Johnsyounger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #15
    I'm using thunderbolt obviously :)
    Cable doesn't sound like the issue....
     
  16. impay thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #16
    it was a screenshot
     
  17. jerryrock macrumors 6502

    jerryrock

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NY
  18. golf1410 macrumors 6502a

    golf1410

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #18
    You should try to use your hdmi port for troubleshooting. If it works fine, then we can scale down the problem. If it has the same problem, then it might be graphic card.
     
  19. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #19
    The OP already stated that the picture is from screenshot, not a photo. So, it's the GPU.
     
  20. casperes1996 macrumors 65816

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #20
    Idea bouncing

    Are you running 10.9.2? If possible, I think you should try and test with 10.9.3 beta on an external disk or partition, and see if the problem occurs there too. The controller and drivers for the GPUs are "much" improved in 10.9.3, especially when running hi-dpi mode. (I know that you're not running Hi-DPI, but still.). Even if it doesn't fix anything, it at least will help us in troubleshooting, as it can diminish the probability of it being a driver issue. I also suggest going to the genius bar or calling AppleCare before you run out. If it's a defect in your machine, it'd be a shame not to get it replaced before it's too late
     
  21. impay, Apr 9, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2014

    impay thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #21
    Yes.

    I'm working under a big deadline but will try these things out when I get a chance. Will be interesting to try the HDMI port and see if that changes anything.

    Thanks for everyone's suggestions.

    Edit: in the latest incident, the apple disappeared on both monitors :eek:

    I tried plugging the bigger screen into HDMI, and the apple came back, but I had a green square sporadically appearing on the smaller screen.

    Edit #2: I really think it has to do with Mavericks. See this thread. https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5491143?start=60&tstart=0
     

    Attached Files:

  22. lupinglade macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    #22
    The Apple disappearing might just be an unrelated bug .
     
  23. sirio76 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
  24. impay thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #24
    As far as I can remember it only happens when I have rhino open..and usually multiple windows open with heavy 200mb+ files. However, when I close rhino it doesn't go away until restart.
     
  25. SuperMatt macrumors 6502

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002

Share This Page