nMP graphics glitch?

impay

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 18, 2014
12
0
This happens sometimes. It only happens when there are a lot of graphics intense things are open at once (+4 rhino files, indesign, photoshop). Other than that it is hard to predict. It happens all over my screen, and it has happened on both monitors I have running. It happens in a different place every time. Restart seems to fix. Everything is running fine besides the weird pixel annoyance.

4core, 16gb memory, D300.
 

Attachments


impay

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 18, 2014
12
0
one monitor is an older 19" HP LP1965 at 1280 x 1024, the other is a 24" viewsonic VA2431 at 1920 x 1080. Both are connected to TB2 via DVI.

Interestingly enough, I just unplugged one to see that would happen, and the problem vanished, even when I reconnected the cable.
 

Johnsyounger

macrumors member
Nov 3, 2013
47
1
You know I have seen a similar bug when I boot up, but only in the top left corner of one Thunderbolt Display. But only when it's booting...
I have 2 thunderbolt displays and nMP 8,d500
 

impay

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 18, 2014
12
0
You know I have seen a similar bug when I boot up, but only in the top left corner of one Thunderbolt Display. But only when it's booting...
I have 2 thunderbolt displays and nMP 8,d500
that's interesting because I thought it may have been A)the D300's couldn't handle everything or B) the software was causing it (rhino is still Beta...) but maybe that isn't the case
 

Cubemmal

macrumors 6502a
Jun 13, 2013
824
1
I think it's their graphics drivers. Ever since they made the changes for AirPlay glitches like this have shown up. Safari seems to bring it out for some reason.
 

wheelhot

macrumors 68020
Nov 23, 2007
2,080
249
What kind of cable are you using to connect the nMP to your monitor?

I encounter similar problem but it's only temporarily and usually it's a horizontal line
 

Foxdog175

macrumors regular
Apr 3, 2008
124
0
You know I have seen a similar bug when I boot up, but only in the top left corner of one Thunderbolt Display. But only when it's booting...
I have 2 thunderbolt displays and nMP 8,d500
I see the exact same thing - a graphical artifact during bootup in the top left corner of one monitor (usually the one that's set as my "main" monitor). I have 30" (via Apple's mini display to dual-link dvi) and 20" (via Apple's mini display to dvi) Apple Cinema Displays.

12c/d700/1tb
 

elvisizer

macrumors 6502
May 29, 2003
299
16
San Jose
could be the GPU, the cable, or drivers.
I'd swap the cables between the displays, see if the problem stays where it was or follows the cable.
 

Umbongo

macrumors 601
Sep 14, 2006
4,929
54
England
All my graphical glitches with Macs in recent years have come from using mini display port to DVI cables and they have been resolved every time by re-inserting the cable. Makes me think it's the fact the connections have no lock. Rare it happens on an Apple cable, although I've seen it, but pretty common on 3rd party ones (multiple vendors).

Seen it on Macbook Airs, Macbook Pro 13", Macbook Pro 15" and Mac Minis.
 

impay

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 18, 2014
12
0

analog guy

macrumors 6502
Mar 6, 2009
358
0
You know I have seen a similar bug when I boot up, but only in the top left corner of one Thunderbolt Display. But only when it's booting...
I have 2 thunderbolt displays and nMP 8,d500
i have observed the same thing with a TBD and nMP 6c,d500. doesn't happen on my LED ACD, only the TBD.
 

lupinglade

macrumors regular
Oct 31, 2010
164
44
If that is a screenshot and not a photo, it is indicative of a driver or video card/video memory error. It is not the monitor or cable.
 

wheelhot

macrumors 68020
Nov 23, 2007
2,080
249
Hmm, not the same cable.

My situation usually happens after the computer wakes up from sleep, and it doesn't happen all the time.

For my situation at least, I feel it's related to the cable as when I connect using a Mini Displayport to DVI or HDMI to my monitor I never encounter such issues. Only with the Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort
 

golf1410

macrumors 6502a
May 7, 2012
747
3
San Francisco, CA
You should try to use your hdmi port for troubleshooting. If it works fine, then we can scale down the problem. If it has the same problem, then it might be graphic card.
 

antonis

macrumors 68020
Jun 10, 2011
2,075
903
The OP already stated that the picture is from screenshot, not a photo. So, it's the GPU.
 

casperes1996

macrumors 68040
Jan 26, 2014
3,956
1,903
Horsens, Denmark
Idea bouncing

This happens sometimes. It only happens when there are a lot of graphics intense things are open at once (+4 rhino files, indesign, photoshop). Other than that it is hard to predict. It happens all over my screen, and it has happened on both monitors I have running. It happens in a different place every time. Restart seems to fix. Everything is running fine besides the weird pixel annoyance.

4core, 16gb memory, D300.
Are you running 10.9.2? If possible, I think you should try and test with 10.9.3 beta on an external disk or partition, and see if the problem occurs there too. The controller and drivers for the GPUs are "much" improved in 10.9.3, especially when running hi-dpi mode. (I know that you're not running Hi-DPI, but still.). Even if it doesn't fix anything, it at least will help us in troubleshooting, as it can diminish the probability of it being a driver issue. I also suggest going to the genius bar or calling AppleCare before you run out. If it's a defect in your machine, it'd be a shame not to get it replaced before it's too late
 

impay

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 18, 2014
12
0
Are you running 10.9.2?
Yes.

I'm working under a big deadline but will try these things out when I get a chance. Will be interesting to try the HDMI port and see if that changes anything.

Thanks for everyone's suggestions.

Edit: in the latest incident, the apple disappeared on both monitors :eek:

I tried plugging the bigger screen into HDMI, and the apple came back, but I had a green square sporadically appearing on the smaller screen.

Edit #2: I really think it has to do with Mavericks. See this thread. https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5491143?start=60&tstart=0
 

Attachments

Last edited:

impay

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 18, 2014
12
0
Is it only happening when using Rhino beta?
As far as I can remember it only happens when I have rhino open..and usually multiple windows open with heavy 200mb+ files. However, when I close rhino it doesn't go away until restart.