nMP in old Mac Pro Case

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Reawer, Apr 10, 2014.

  1. Reawer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    #1
    Hey there. A pretty silly idea.

    Has anyone tried to put the new Mac Pro into the old case? :) I mean the new one is much smaller, so maybe it will fit into the old one (of course empty case). Hmm? :)
     
  2. lemonade-maker macrumors 6502

    lemonade-maker

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
  3. tuxon86 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    #3
    Because they can? :p
     
  4. Reawer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    #4
    Because someone just doesn't like the aesthetics of the new one... Or their setup is already set to have the old good tower in it.

    So this could be a great compromise. The power of the new ... and the (NICE) look of the old. :)
     
  5. tuxon86 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    #5
    The main problem would be the cooling. The nMP isn't made to be enclosed.
     
  6. Reawer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    #6
    Good point. I was thinking about installing a tube from the top of it (nMP) to the back of the old case to direct the hot air out of it... :)
     

Share This Page