nMP "Jet Engine" mode in Sierra

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by 2128506, Jan 10, 2017.

?

Did Apple screwed OS X yet another time?

  1. Gimme Steve back!

    80.0%
  2. New Marketing overlords are a godsend! I love Siri on my microphone-less desktop!

    20.0%
  3. I had this issue, you just need to... (please specify what)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. 2128506, Jan 10, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017

    2128506 macrumors regular

    2128506

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Location:
    Heart of Mordor
    #1
    Upgraded to Sierra on my nMP, fan keeps running on top RPMs during 2% system load – blowing out room temperature air. SMC reset did not help – "jet engine" mode activates on reboot no matter how many times I did it. Also latest OS beta didn't help either.

    What's funny, system ran normally for a couple of days after I've killed and disabled photo indexing bullcrap.

    Using Macs Fan Control helps to slow it down, but system becomes sluggish (really noticeable in 3D games for example), like it's trying to throttle CPU because it thinks it's overheating (it is not, all sensors read 30-40º C, except from "PCIe switch diode" which reads around 60-70º C which is supposed to be normal).

    Did Apple screwed something up? Again.

    Update: AD said "there may be an issue with SMC", code PFM006 – I call bullcrap, it's too much a coincidence for it to happen exactly timed to major OS upgrade. Considering I'm not the only one having this issue.
     
  2. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #2
    If a clean install of Sierra and an SMC/PRAM reset doesn't fix it, then there's likely a hardware issue with the machine. Could be something as 'simple' as a bad temperature sensor, but it'll require some detective work.

    Try installing a clean copy of Sierra on an external drive and booting off it and see if the fans still run full-blast.
     
  3. border terrier macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Location:
    England
    #3
    I see this occasionally, more so on my Mac Pro than MacBook Pro but it's not that frequent on either machine. It seems pretty random.
     
  4. 2128506, Feb 8, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2017

    2128506 thread starter macrumors regular

    2128506

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Location:
    Heart of Mordor
    #4
    1) Went to Apple certified service, diag showed all green, no fan spin-up. So they said I failed to reset SMC properly (that's first for me, spent couple of days doing resets – apparently Apple services consider users to be morons, especially ones buying "Pro" hardware);
    2) Went back home, it ran properly for a week, then started slowness-spinup thing again;
    3) Went to Apple certified service, diag showed thermal sensor failure on GPU 2, now waiting for them to further diagnose it (they are sure taking their time).

    Apple quoted a nice $350 to trade-in replace D700 (apparently, there is some replacement program for out-of-warranty MacPros - so it's a common issue).

    Or a whooping $860 if I'd decide for some reason to keep old card with me. Considering it's 4 years old tech – what a ripoff.

    So all this "workstation-grade components and engineering" is a huge piece of ******** – workstations should not have thermal failures / burned cards like this exactly after the warranty is expired. It's not like I even use GPUs for anything other, than occasional gaming, no load on them at all.

    Quick search on the internets shows that GPU thermal issues on late-2013 "Pros" are not uncommon. Form before function again...

    Once it's fixed will sell it and build myself a 6x more powerful hackintosh for the price of used Mac "Pro".

    P.S. Note to moderators: thread should probably be moved to nMP forum, considering it's not a Sierra issue (but coincidence is worrying).
     
  5. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #5
    Don't have this issue.
    6core d500 32GB.

    Been on Sierra since beta. Each point release and random formats and reinstalls just to do it.

    I never hear the fan in my office.
     
  6. 2128506 thread starter macrumors regular

    2128506

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Location:
    Heart of Mordor
    #6
    Um, I kinda wrote that GPU was fried. It was detected in OS properly and not flagged in AD as faulty – error only showed in (paid for) diagnostic run at service shop.

    Also you've got D500s, they produce less heat I believe, less chance of frying.
     
  7. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #7
    Ok then.
    I wasn't aware this thread was specifically about a D700 only Mac Pro based on the title.
    Carry on with the " "
     

Share This Page