nMP maxing display resolution

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by wheelhot, Feb 11, 2014.

  1. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #1
    Hey all!
    My nMP status update has changed from 'Processing Items:' to 'Preparing for Shipment:' so I'm really excited, I wonder how long it'll take before it's shipped and my credit card has been charged.

    Okay back to my title, to my understanding, HDMI max outputs up to 1920x1080 resolution. But I own a Dell U2711 with 2560 x 1440 resolution, what kind of cable do I need?

    With my current MBP, the monitor is connected via a DVI cable.
     
  2. razer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Displayport (or mini displayport depending on your monitor) if your monitor has that connection?
     
  3. A8NSLIDELUXE macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    #3
    I think, via HDMI you can get up to 3840x2160 pixels, but only with 30Hz. 2560 x 1440 via DP is best for you.
     
  4. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #4
    Hmm, but my monitor uses Display Port, is there an adapter for Mini Display Port to Display Port?

    If I were to use DVI, I have to get those Dual Link DVI cables rite?

    ----------

    So HDMI 1.4 shouldn't have problem with 2560 x 1440 at 60Hz?
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    There are Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort adapters and cables on MonoPrice.
     
  6. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #6
    Okay, I just checked, engadget says the U2711 comes with HDMI 1.3 input, and from what I've read, HDMI 1.3 max input is 2560×1600p75

    So I should be fine with HDMI for my needs?
     
  7. Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #7
    Dammit. I was secretly racing you! Grats on the order change :)
     
  8. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #8
    I'll update you all when I receive it :p

    And since they are many Mac OS benchmarks around, I'll be focusing to do benchmark tests on the Windows side of things. Let me know if you want to run any tests, I'll likely do it as long as it's free ;)

    Oh and my model is the base nMP D300, no upgrades.
     
  9. Ei kukaan macrumors newbie

    Ei kukaan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #9
    I was never able to get more than 1920x1080 with my U2711 and MBP.
    With simple miniDP > DP cable I've get full resolution.
     
  10. A8NSLIDELUXE macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    #10
  11. lesferdinand macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #11
    I have 2560x1440 at 60Hz running over HDMI, in both OS X and Bootcamp.
     
  12. Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #12
    I guess what I am interested in before mine turns up is what the difference in the windows drivers bring.

    e.g. benchmarks for

    1. Default Bootcamp Installed Drivers
    2. Radeon Drivers
    3. Upgraded Firepro Drivers (is that possible?)

    And see if there is a clear difference amongst popular applications like Maya, BF4 etc.

    Also, keep in mind that setting crossfire profiles on some games really boosts the performance.

    And, finally how your Bootcamp experience goes as there are a ton of mixed reviews on this.
     
  13. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #13
    Hmm, I don't mind trying out Radeon and AMD FirePro drivers but how do I rollback to bootcamp drivers if things didn't go correctly?

    ----------

    thanks!

    ----------

    Hmm, I wonder if it has something to do with Intel GPU?
     
  14. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #14
    If your monitor has Displayport, just use the MDP->DP cable or adaptor. It's the least messy solution.
     
  15. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #15
    nMP status just changed to shipped. I'm excited! Time to let my pre-unibody MBP the rest it deserves :D
     
  16. tuxon86 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    #16
    Are you going to take him behind the barn and shoot it? :D
     
  17. ha1o2surfer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #17
    Yeah I wana gona say.. I know HDMI supports 2560x1440 just fine.
     
  18. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #18
    Haha, in my country, guns is prohibited :rolleyes:

    I'll be keeping it as a memento, the time before Apple became famous. I still remember when I first got the MBP, everybody in my class was like "what's that?" "Looks cool!" "A Mac? What's that? Why you didn't Windows?" "I don't like it cause it's too different, and I'm bad with technology".

    Few years later, everybody is owning unibody MBPs :cool:

    Oh and the nMP is now on the delivery courier! Guess I'll be spending the weekend setting it up
     
  19. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #19
    Woo hoo! It has arrived, let me know what benchmarks needed to be run. I'll create a separate post once I got some benchmarking done ;)
     
  20. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #20
    Are you using the same U2711 monitor? Cause I just hooked up mine and it maxes at 1920x1080? Did you hack it or it has something to do with my HDMI cable?
     
  21. tuxon86 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    #21
    Why run benchmark?

    Just plug the thing and work with it. Ultimatelly, you're the one who'll decide if it was worth it or not. Not some obscure statistic...
     
  22. lesferdinand macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #22
    I have an Asus PA279Q. I hacked the profile to get OS X to output in RGB but even before that, I was able to use it in 2560x1440 @ 60Hz in OS X.
     
  23. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #23
    Darn, I guess probably my Dell monitor limits HDMI input to 1920x1080 :(
     
  24. lesferdinand macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #24
    Yes, sorry, should have specified from the start what monitor I was using. It still seems strange that the Dell wouldn't support it though. The model isn't that old, is it?

    After having used an iMac for well over 6 years it had been a while since I bought my previous stand-alone monitor. And I had completely forgotten what kind of mess it can be, especially if you're a Mac owner.
     
  25. wheelhot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #25
    Hmm, 4 years now. Yea, how old is your monitor? The Asus
     

Share This Page