nMP Thunderbolt to iMac MiniDisplay port ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Don909, Jan 1, 2014.

  1. Don909 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #1
    I have searched but have not found an answer.

    Can I use my 2009 iMac as a monitor for the nMP ? The iMac only has a MiniDisplay port.

    Thanks
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Yes, if your iMac is a 27-inch, which does support Target Display mode.
    The 21.5-inch iMac does not support Target Display until they have a Thunderbolt port, starting with the Mid-2011 iMac.
    This Apple support article should tell you everything that you need to know: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3924
     
  3. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #3
    To add slightly more (If you have the 27" 2009 iMac):

    You'll just need a mini-display port cable (or a thunderbolt cable).
     
  4. Don909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #4

    My 2009 iMac is the 27'" model. What exact cable would I need ? I do not see a Thunderbolt to MiniDisplay cable listed in the store.

    Thanks

    Don
     
  5. Bones13 macrumors member

    Bones13

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #5
    Either one will work. Thunderbolt or Mini DisplayPort cable. The ends look the same.
     
  6. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #6
    You want a mini-displayport cable OR a thunderbolt cable.
    They use the same connector and both carry the displayport signal you need.
    (A thunderbolt cable will also carry data, but you don't need that for this and a mini-displayport cable is usually cheaper.)

    This is a mini-displayport to mini-displayport that should work (and they have longer ones too, depending on what you need):

    http://www.monoprice.com/Product?se...&cagpspn=pla&gclid=CKreqZ7q3bsCFYEDOgodHkAA-Q
     
  7. Don909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #7

    Thanks - I didn't realize the cable dimensions were identical.

    Don
     

Share This Page