nMP unintentionally powering off?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by wesk702, Mar 31, 2014.

  1. wesk702 macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #1
    Anyone else's nMP shutting off/powering off randomly? This happens to me about 2-3 times a week. Usually while the computer is asleep.
     
  2. theBigD23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #2
    How odd. This is the EXACT issue I just posted about a few minutes ago. It happened to me too. I woke up this morning and it was shut down. I had to power it on manually.

    I got it Saturday and it just happened the first time tonight.

    Here are my Energy Saver settings if it makes any difference:

    http://imgur.com/Z2ed81J

    Edit:
    6 core
    16 GB RAM
    D700
     
  3. wesk702 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #3
    I've reset to default settings and it still occurs no matter how I change it. It even shut down twice while I was using it. Concerns me.

    ----------

    I have a Scarlett USB audio interface always powered on and hooked up to it also and speakers, monitors, but the nMP is the only one acting like this.
     
  4. bxs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #4
    1) Are you plugged into a UPS system ?

    2) Is your electrical power being disrupted in some manner... ? ...such as voltage drop, frequency variation... check with your electrical supplier about this.

    3) Is the MacPro6,1 anywhere near a heat source that may cause the ambient temps to get higher than what the MacPro 6,1 is designed for ?

    4) Check your system.log messages for the time you estimate the powering off situation arose. Should be easy to find the messages just before the BOOT message when you discovered the MacPro 6,1 was powered off. Post back the messages as best you can.

    5) Were you running any type of heavy workload during the time the power-off situation arose ?

    6) Given this issue arises when the MacPro 6,1 is asleep, try leaving the MacPro 6,1 awake to see if this resolves the issue.

    FYI... I've had my MP6,1 12-core/D700s/1TB-SSD/64GB-RAM running constantly since Feb 24 and it has never powered off by itself. I do not sleep the MP6,1 either. My MP6,1 is plugged into a UPS system... so even if the incoming electrical power shuts off, the UPS would kick in... but that's only a temporary fix to allow for a graceful system shutdown.
     
  5. wesk702 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #5
    1) no UPS
    2) no interuptions I suspect. Everything else electronic runs flawlessly
    3) nowhere near a heat source
    4) will have to check
    5) just browsing safari or sleeping
    6) haven't tried leaving it awake, will try next. Would prefer to be able to leave it asleep though. Doesn't seem like too much to ask for a 4.2k computer.

    Thanks for the response!
     
  6. SuperMatt macrumors 6502

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #6
    Definitely contact Apple about this. Even if you didn't buy AppleCare, you are still covered for 90 days of phone support - they will want to know about this so they can fix it if it's a problem for multiple users.
     
  7. k-hawinkler macrumors member

    k-hawinkler

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #7
    Well, on my nMP I had to disable the machine or disk drives going to sleep as the nMP would crash and reboot when I tried to wake up and use drives in FirmTek eSATA enclosures that were attached to the nMP with Thunderbold to eSATA adapters. Other than the sleep isuue the system has been rock solid.
     
  8. bxs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #8
    What brand and type (specifics please) Thunderbolt-to-eSATA adapter are you using ?

    Is the eSATA enclosure a Port Multiplier ?
     
  9. k-hawinkler, Apr 1, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2014

    k-hawinkler macrumors member

    k-hawinkler

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #9
    I have three of these adapters. http://firmtek.stores.yahoo.net/ttpwq6g.html

    I have two of these 4-bay, 4-port enclosures. http://firmtek.stores.yahoo.net/sata2een4.html
    I have four of these 5-bay, 1-Port Multiplier enclosures. http://firmtek.stores.yahoo.net/sata5pm.html

    For the four Port Multiplier enclosures to be recognized as such one needs this driver.

    http://www.firmtek.com/download/SeriTekq6g_6.1.7.zip from page. http://www.firmtek.com/download/

    I have also this dual enclosure. http://firmtek.stores.yahoo.net/mses.html
    It's connected with these two eSATA to USB3 cables http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812232047
    to a http://www.caldigit.com/thunderboltstation/

    The CalDigit Thunderbolt™ Station itself is connected via a Thunderbolt cable to my 6 core nMP with maxed out memory and SSD.

    I have attached in this way 30 storage devices, namely 7 Crucial SSDs and 23 disk drives, primarily 4 TB Hitachi DeskStars.
    Almost half of the devices are configured as RAIDs. A really nice feature is; all of these SSDs, drives, and RAIDs can boot the system.
    I am running the latest version of Mavericks and use CCC to clone the internal Apple SSD.

    These data rates are measured from a RAID 0 of four Crucial SDDs in a 4-bay enclosure with 4 eSATA cables.
    DiskSpeedTest_4x256GB_SSD.png
    Not too bad, considering the 4-bay, 4-port enclosures are limited to 3 Gbit/s bandwidth per port.

    These are measurements for the internal Apple SSD.
    DiskSpeedTest_Int_SSD.png

    These are the speeds of a single Crucial SSD in a 6 Gbit/s enclosure attached via the described CalDigit Thunderbolt™ Station.
    DiskSpeedTest_1xSSD_R_on_6Gb_s.png

    These measurements are from a single Crucial SSD in a Port Multiplier enclosure.
    DiskSpeedTest_1xSSD_on_3Gb_s.png
     

Share This Page