No 10 bits panel MacBook Pro 15 1018?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ferbandie, Sep 5, 2018.

  1. ferbandie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    #1
    Hello, I have a MacBook Pro 15 2018 but when I watch sistem information-display/graphics it have 8 bits RGB in the display information, I had a 2017 15 MacBook Pro before and had 10 bit display, why this downgrade?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ries macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #2
    I don’t think any Mac laptop has had true 10-bit, they do 10-bit processing and map it to 8-bit. The only 10-bit has been LG5k and iMacs 5ks.
     
  3. ferbandie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    #3
    Mi previous 2017 MacBook Pro in the same menu had 30 bit color ARGB101010
     
  4. New_Mac_Smell macrumors 68000

    New_Mac_Smell

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Location:
    Shanghai
    #4
    But did you notice this when looking at something or just when rooting through the system specifications? It's pretty clear when you have an actual 10bit display, I'm pretty sure the 2017 thing was a bug caused by the 10bit emulation stuff going on.
     
  5. SamsungDDR macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    #5
  6. ferbandie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    #6
    I saw these threat before ask here, because one of the users post that your new computer had 8 bit panel. This is the reason why ask for this downgrade, I don't understand why use 8 bit now instead the previous that had 10 bits (well the cost but the Macs are very expensive).
     
  7. Mr Screech, Sep 6, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2018

    Mr Screech macrumors newbie

    Mr Screech

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    #7
    The screen, arguably the most important interface, and Apple has a lottery system whether you'd get a 8 or 10 bit screen in their flagship laptop.

    Disgusting way of doing business imo.
     
  8. content macrumors member

    content

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    #8
    Would you happen to know if I have an LG or Samsung based on the attached? Thanks

    Terminal says: PT|?@P4 K??Color LCD

    Pasted Graphic copy.jpg
     
  9. sjinsjca macrumors 68020

    sjinsjca

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #9
    Apple reportedly uses dithering to extract higher bitness in the digital-to-analog conversion for pixel rendering on some of its devices, including the iPhoneX. In this case, dithering means switching between adjacent 8-bit states at a rate high enough to be imperceptible; the duty cycle of the switching creates a virtual state in between the 8-bit states. You can steer the state between the 8-bit states by adjusting the duty cycle. So, for example, a 50% duty cycle yields a midway state, half a step between the lower 8-bit state and the higher 8-bit state. This is a nifty trick I've used myself in instrumentation circumstances. (The digital-to-analog conversion is commonly based on dithering anyway, internal to most DAC chips.)
     
  10. ferbandie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    #10
    I don’t understand this, previously de 13” MacBook Pro 2016/2017 had 8 bits panel while the 15” Pro had 10 bit display, now de 13” 2018 have 10 bit panel but the 15” that is more expensive have a 8 bit panel?

    Really I don’t understand it.
    PD. This picture is from MacBook Pro 13 2018
     

    Attached Files:

  11. New_Mac_Smell macrumors 68000

    New_Mac_Smell

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Location:
    Shanghai
    #11
    Just load a 10bit ramp test and see. Whether the software reads 10bit or not is irrelevant, if it's 10bit it will be immediately obvious when looking at a gradient ramp.

    Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 22.59.12.jpg

    The 2017 Kabylake chips added support for 10bit displays, and there was a firmware bug meaning they displayed as 10bit in the system specifications. They have never been 10bit, and won't be for a while. 10bit displays (True) are very high end expensive units. That's what you're not understanding, it's a software bug not an actual hardware configuration.

    If you have access, just search for a 10bit test ramp and load it up. If you can see banding, then it's 8bit - regardless of what it tells you.
     
  12. green86 macrumors 6502a

    green86

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #12
    Do you have a source for this?
     
  13. ferbandie, Sep 24, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2018

    ferbandie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    #13
    Hello, today I have updated to Mojave with a great surprise, in display information, my panel show that's is a 10 bit display, no 8 bits that I had with high Sierra
     

    Attached Files:

  14. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    Maybe its a bug in Mojave
     
  15. ferbandie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    #15
    Or was a bug in high Sierra
     
  16. fokmik macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Clear a high sierra bug...the 2018 was meant to be released with mojave..
     
  17. chrizzz09 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #17
    Well, I guess the easiest way to check for sure is to use the method @New_Mac_Smell described.

    Maybe they where 10bit panels all along but software bug in HS just displayed 8bit, or it’s a bug in Mojave and it is only 8bit.
     
  18. ferbandie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    #18
    I don't know how do it, sorry :(
     
  19. Lennyvalentin macrumors 65816

    Lennyvalentin

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #19
    Where did you obtain this screenshot? Because my 2018 13" states 24bit RGBA framebuffer in system information. That's the only place I've found any information about about the integrated display.
     
  20. leman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #20
    I haven't seen any real evidence that the MBP ever had a 10bit panel (RGB10 pixel format certainly doesn't count as such). This discussion — as so often — lacks any rational basis.
     
  21. ferbandie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    #21
    Today I have watched the display information and it's showing now 8 bits color , it could be a bug :(

    I don't know why yesterday it showed 10 bit color
     

    Attached Files:

  22. macintoshmac macrumors 68030

    macintoshmac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #22
    Check and report tomorrow. Let's see where we are at tomorrow. ;)

    That bug has existed since 2016 MBPs if I am not wrong.
     
  23. ferbandie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    #23
    Today connected to the thunderbolt 3 belkin dock with an external monitor 4k true 10bit depth color and using the radeon 560X, it shows that the Retina display have 10 bit color o_O
     

    Attached Files:

  24. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #24
    Have you pulled up a 10bit image and determined if there's any dithering? It doesn't matter what the settings say, the proof is in the pudding, i.e., does it display 10bit images. My guess is that its not a 10bit display but a bug.
     
  25. leman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #25
    All that this info shows is that the system is using 10bit pixel format. Which is completely unrelated to the hardware capabilities of the monitor itself.
     

Share This Page

35 September 5, 2018