No 1080p video for you...

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by snowboarder, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. snowboarder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #1
    I just checked out both Air models in an Apple store.
    Really, really disappointing. Although the form and shape might
    be tempting - really light, but the performance is a joke.
    I understand the Intel-Apple-whoever legal issues, but they
    shouldn't use the 4 years old processor in such a good (otherwise)
    machine. A good screen, good keyboard, but no power.
    Everything is sluggish and it doesn't even play the full HD videos.
    The higher 13 model can not do it. The 11" model is even worse,
    it's just a netbook.
    Maybe with the 2.13GHz and 4GB of RAM is slightly better, but
    they don't even have those models in the store, so no luck
    checking it out.
    They clearly are trying to attract your attention to the use
    of flash instead of hard drives, but they forgot their OS X doesn't
    support it fully....
    If you need a small netbook to check out your email
    and make some notes, it's good, But for anything even slightly
    more demanding, skip it.
     
  2. GeekLawyer macrumors demi-god

    GeekLawyer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    The post is coming from inside the house!
    #2
    This has not been my experience on my 11" model.

    No issue playing 1080P content from Apple such as trailers.

    The only 1080 content I've had a problem with is YouTube 1080P under adobe flash. It drops some frames.
     
  3. Nilonym macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    I've had my stock 11.6/128 for about 48 hours now. My experience has been very different than this. With 10.1 installed my MBA can play HD Flash without breaking a sweat; CPU is at about 50%, no discernible heat, no fan noise, smooth video.

    It's too bad that Apple is apparently installing an older version of Flash lacking hardware acceleration in stores.
     
  4. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #4
    The Flash version on the models in the store is outdated. With a current Flash version they run it perfectly. At least the 13" does.
     
  5. Adidas Addict macrumors 65816

    Adidas Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    England
  6. nylon macrumors 6502a

    nylon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    #6
    That's funny I just spent about 45 mins at the Apple store with both 11" and 13" machines. I specifically tested 1080p videos to gauge CPU and GPU performace. While the base 11" model definitely did stutter a little bit with 1080p video the 13" was totally fluid with no dropped frames whatsoever.
     
  7. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #7
    I understand wondering if it is possible, but in real life, why would you even want to play 1080P video on a display that is essentially 720P resolution?
     
  8. einmusiker macrumors 68030

    einmusiker

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #8
    checked out a barebones 11.6 in apple store last night and I was very impressed. opened apps lightning fast, opened safari, ical, mail, garageband, iphoto, and imovie all at the same time with no issues whatsoever, couldnt watch video as flash wasnt installed so that will be my big test when i get it
     
  9. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #9
    What do you mean about that? Could you explain that further please? I'm still learning some of the finer details of OS/X after 3 years.
     
  10. naujoks macrumors 6502

    naujoks

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
  11. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #11
    You can also check out Safari Extension: "Click to Flash" it allows you to use quicktime for all flashes that provide H264 video (YouTube etc) which always runs perfectly...

    He means that OSX has no Trim support for flash memory yet. Quite a non factor issue that people get hung up about a lot... It essentially means that the performance of the SSD degrades after a long while of usage because of the way it works internally. This degradation is only solvable by introducing TRIM and Mac OS users at the moment have to go through lengths to manually reset their drives. However the degradation is so minimal that for me, a heavy user of a Intel SSD for over 1 year now the performance has degraded by 3%. So it is in no way a pressing issue...

    It's just to test the capability of the machines. Also some people might wanna hook up TVs or large displays...
     
  12. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #12
    I did the exact same thing. I opened up everything i could, included Aperture 3 and could not notice a bit of slow down. I also tried to go to youtube to see how it handled the HD stuff, but just like you, my store hadn't installed Flash. I did watch an HD trailer in iTunes though and it had no trouble, even with all of those apps running. Overall, i was very impressed! If only it was a bit cheaper I would sell my MacBook and get the 11" Air.
     
  13. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #13
    Isn't the Flash storage in the new MBA different from a SSD? Does Trim affect both?
     
  14. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #14
    It is still flash NAND storage, so yes, there is a TRIM. It could come in an update soon though.
     
  15. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #15
    The SSD is the same thing just in a standard hard drive casing. Apart from that there is no difference. So yes, missing TRIM affects both.
     
  16. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #16
    Ever heard of an external monitor? You know Apple sells those screens which you can connect to laptops. They usually are bigger than 13".

    :rolleyes:
     
  17. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #18
    haha man you can seriously compete with steve jobs on reply length :D
     
  18. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #19
    OK. I think I understand now. The Flash storage on an SSD is housed in an enclosure similar to that of a typical HDD, and the new MBA drops the enclosure and Apple put the Flash storage right on the logic board. Am I right?
     
  19. niuniu macrumors 68020

    niuniu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    A man of the people. The right sort of people.
    #20
    The new MBA's suck so bad that you can play COD 4 on them.
     
  20. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #21
    All I need is to drop that capital letter, full stop and add "Sent from my iPad". ;)
     
  21. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #22
    Exactly. And when it's housed it's called SSD. Otherwise it's just a bunch of flash memory chips.
     
  22. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #23
    Cool thanks. Learning has occurred. :D
     
  23. racer1441 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #24
    Considering all this 1080 HD stuff is BS just like the rest of the HD market, who cares?
     
  24. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #25
    I don't think so. On a display with high enough resolution, the difference is obvious.
     

Share This Page