No 3 Slots possible?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BlindSoul, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. BlindSoul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Israel
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm interested in upgrading my iMac 2011 RAM.
    Now someone has told me I must have my RAM even, and It's not possible to have for example: 2x2GB and 1x4GB. And I must have: 2x2GB and 2x4GB.

    Is it true?
    Thank you very much! :)
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    No, it's not true. There may be some slight performance advantage to using matched RAM, but it's not significant enough to worry about.
     
  3. ExnomenDei macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #3
    The reason you were tood not to do this is because not using pairs of identical RAM means giving up on dual channel memory mode, which is a whole bit faster than single channel mode. Your Mac will work fine, but it's going to be a bit slower.

    Mac Pro's have triple channel, meaning three banks of memory are expected for best results.
     
  4. BlindSoul thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Israel
    #4
    And if I buy another 4GB RAM will it work fine?
    By fine I mean, The channel thing won't slow it?
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    You'll be fine, either way. The performance difference is less than 10% with matched RAM.

    http://guides.macrumors.com/Matched_RAM_on_Intel_Macs
     
  6. BlindSoul thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Israel
    #6
    I see, Okay then I think I might firstly buy 1x4GB and then when I will have more money I will just buy another 1x4GB.

    Thank you so much.
     
  7. Ilari macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #7
    I have 2 x 2 GB and 1 x 4 GB, no problems at all. Also I didn't notice it slowing down.
     
  8. BlindSoul thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Israel
    #8
    Awesome, Thanks for the reply. It's great to know someone actually using it that way.
     
  9. Kasalic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #9
    You have to balance the slow down of not having dual channel memory with the speed increase of having more physical ram.
     

Share This Page