No Airdisk (Airport) Time Machine Backups!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Diatribe, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. Diatribe macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #1
    As the title says Apple took out Time Machine Backups via Airdisk (AEBS).

    While I think the way it has been running for some people this makes sense, they should have never marketed that feature. I bet there are around 30-40% of new AEBS owners out there that bought it for exactly that feature tat now are going to be pissed.

    I for one hope they fix the problems and bring it back, but only time will tell I guess.
     
  2. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    Maybe once the firmware is fixed they will roll out support.
     
  3. JSpence macrumors regular

    JSpence

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #3
    :mad: I'm disappointed. This was honestly one of the things I was hoping for most! I'm a lappy user, AirDisk support would've just been ideal. Wahhh
     
  4. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #4
    I was almost one of them, but my cars starter motor burning out left me lacking in money, so I held off. Glad I did now, but it will be a real pain to remember to attatch my disk to the lappy regulary!
     
  5. saxman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    #5
    Well that's bad news for lots of people - especially mobile users. I'm beginning to wonder if Apple bit of more than they could chew with the AEBS disk feature. Must be harder than they thought
     
  6. superleccy macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #6
    Actually I'm not surprised. I've heard anecdotal evidence that the read/write speed of Airdisk is rather on the slow side. I wonder if trying to implement Time Machine over AirDisk would just be too slow... or worse, actually slow down your Mac.

    I've not bought a new Airport Extreme yet anyway because I'm waiting for them to add AirTunes.

    SL
     
  7. Tygernoot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #7
    I'm probably going to say something stupid, but I need to know :).

    Do you mean by Airport Disk that it's a HD connected to the Airport Extreme basestation, and that's it's impossible (for now) to create Time Machine backups to that drive even if you are connected through the 1GBit ethernet?

    I have three macs at home and wanted to replace my current router by the Airport Extreme, so I can use gigabit ethernet and have one central HD where all Time Machine backups would go.

    As long as that isn't possible I see no point in buying the Airport Extreme basestation.
     
  8. zen macrumors 65816

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #8
    Correct. And that's why I was about to buy an Airport Extreme Basestation too, as we have two laptops and an iMac, and backing up the portables to a plug-in external HDD is going to be TEDIOUS.

    Dropped a big one there Apple!
     
  9. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #9
    For now, at least.

    I have this feeling that Time Machine will at some point (a year?) be revolutionary and one of those "every one needs it" programs that Microsoft will integrate into the next version of windows.

    But, in the meantime it's going to take some work to work out kinks and get it running smoothly in a way that's convenient for all users.
     
  10. Nuc macrumors 6502a

    Nuc

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    TN
    #10
    I've found using the airport disk to be very slow even when at home and away from home. Hopefully they will fix this in the future...

    Nuc
     
  11. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #11
    i'm surprised that they changed their minds....hopefully they'll bring the support later
     
  12. DoreanGrae macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #12
    Yeah this does really suck, as it's ideal for laptop users. It has to be a performance issue, because by all accounts it was working in previous developer betas. Knowing Steve, if it isn't fast enough or cool enough, it ain't shipping.

    They must add this later tough. Too many people were banking on it for TM use for them to not. I expect it in 10.5.1.
     
  13. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #13
    Wow, this is a big blow. I bought the AEBS just for this reason, not sure what we are going to do now. I can understand it taking a long time to update the first time, but after that, it should be invisible, I don't think most people are making huge changes per hour. This is a real shame.
     
  14. DoreanGrae macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #14
    Yeah. It'll be back, I'm sure. Probably soon.
     
  15. DylanG macrumors regular

    DylanG

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #15
    It's not just Airport disks. Time Machine can't backup to any network drives. This worked fine in earlier betas and is a huge disappointment for me.
     
  16. DoreanGrae macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #16
    Not entirely true. It can backup to network drives, but they have to be running off of a Leopard-based system.

     
  17. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #17
    This includes NAS drives?
     
  18. DylanG macrumors regular

    DylanG

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #18
    Sorry, my mistake. The beta could back up to a Tiger share and I assumed support for network drives had been removed altogether when I couldn't do that now.
     
  19. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #19
    bummer dude, I was planning on picking up an AEB with Leopard for this very reason. Apple just lost $160.
     
  20. DoreanGrae macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #20
    They'll get that $160 one way or another. ;)
     
  21. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #21
    Interested to see someone with a ReadyNAS NV+ try and see if they are able to use it with Time Machine.
     
  22. DoreanGrae macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #22
    Easy mistake to make. I'm sure for those people out there who have Leopard right now, not many of them have access to another computer running Leopard to try this out, and thus think it doesn't work at all. Quite understandable.
     
  23. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #23
    they're already gotten 10x that over the years. I should qualify for a free one or something :rolleyes:
     
  24. DoreanGrae macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #24
    How about free shipping at the online store?
     
  25. PhatBoyG macrumors regular

    PhatBoyG

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    #25
    Or they'll get your $1600 when you buy a new Al iMac and a 1TB USB drive. :)
     

Share This Page