No AirPlay On 2010 Imacs

Discussion in 'macOS' started by robbone, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. robbone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #1
    What a joke so i call apple today and they say airplay dont work on the 2010 model imacs just the 2011 and up computers, the least they could do is tell you that when hyping it up so now i need to get a new imac to use the airplay feature so lame
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    They hid that information in plain sight, for anyone to read:

    Apple - OS X Mountain Lion - Read the technical specifications.
     
  3. trssho macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #3
    Why wouldnt they support my 2010 iMac with a quad core processor?
     
  4. moulevay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #5
    Same issue. It s a scandal! I hope they ll find solution or i ll ask for a refund
     
  5. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #6
    Your post is a scandal. The feature is hardware dependent (Intel processor generation), and no, it is not Apples fault.
     
  6. NewbieCanada macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #7
    Same reason my quad-core 2012 rMBP doesn't play DVDs - it lacks the necessary hardware.
     
  7. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #8
    *lol*
    A fitting comparison.

    :)
     
  8. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    Forgive my ignorance, but how is this a hardware limitation? I have airplay working on my HTPC through XBMC. It most certainly isn't sporting a current generation quad core processor...
     
  9. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #10
    On the Intel-side only Sandy Bridge IGPs (or newer) can encode H.264 streams in realtime. XBMC uses probably another hardware accelerated video encoder. Many ARM-based processors have a realtime H.264 encoder.
     
  10. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #11
    AHA! That's the ticket. Thanks for clearing that up for me. :)

    In theory, would upgrading to a Sandy Bridge + processor do the ticket?
     
  11. moulevay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
  12. PlasticaxBonina macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Dordrecht (near Rotterdam), Hollandia.
    #13
    So...
    Then hence the question why can a 3rd party developer do it? And apple not?

    (and the price is also expensive compared to a whole package of upgrades and new features =P )
     

Share This Page