No Airport on brand new 27" iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BosDB, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. BosDB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    #1
    I just received my new 27" iMac - 4gb 1TB just now and there is no Airport icon in the finder to select from - In the network preferences you cannot choose a wireless connection and the airport feature is greyed out - System Profiler shows the Airport software versions - Airport Utility keeps giving errors!

    I then went to:
    Hard Drive > System > Library > Core Services > Menu Extras

    to double click on the Airport Icon.

    and while it did place the Airport icon in the finder, when I clicked on it to turn Airport on/select a wireless, it only displayed "No Airport card installed".

    In System Profiler, when I select Airport under "Network", it displays the Airport Software versions BUT it does not indicate any info on an Airport card.

    HELP! What is going on here? Have restarted several times.

    Dan
     
  2. juliancs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #2
    Sounds like either loose/faulty hardware. Take it in.
     
  3. fruitpunch.ben macrumors 6502a

    fruitpunch.ben

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Surrey, BC
    #3
    the airport is an add-on in the new imacs ;)

    na kidding.
    I'd call applecare. could be the airport guy forgot to do yours on the production line
     
  4. lca355 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #4
    same problem here

    This totally sucks for me as mine appears to have the same problem. I am trying a reinstall of OSX, didn't know what else to do.

    So OP, did you ever get this resolved? did you have to take it in?

    Thanks,

    Ryan
     
  5. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    No idea how you are trying to start Airport, but have you set it up in System Preferences?
     
  6. lca355 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #6
    I looked around in system prefrences but it doesn't find any wireless card to try and hook up to anything. I can't even see the wireless icon in the top of the menu or anything. I just wondered if the OP had reinstalled and that fixed it or if it's going to have to be sent in. Guess I'll call applecare after this reinstall doesn't work.
     
  7. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #7
    Go to Network Utility, click the drop down menu and see if it comes up. If not, it sounds like the airport card is either faulty or not connected properly. So then your best bet is to book an appointment with a genius.
     
  8. i7QuadCoreMania macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #8
    maybe you didnt pay for that option?:D

    I'm sure it is just a loose card, if its missing entirely idk how it got passed QC? damn ****ty quality for what Apple charges for these.:mad:
     
  9. ascender macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #9
    There's a few people with this problem on the Apple Support Forums, pop over and check out the threads, might get some ideas.
     
  10. lca355 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #10
    I took mine in to my local apple authorized reseller. They popped it open and looked at it. Lucky for me no need to order a part. The cable from the wireless card to the logic board had fell out or was not connected properly to begin with. The repair guy said he had never seen that before, but he plugged it in and taped it down so I've got mine back and no problems w/ the wireless now. I am kind of afraid to check for the yellow tinge. It has not jumped out at me, but i haven't not done any of the specific tests. Other than that, my imac seems great, no flickering. Crossing my fingers :) :D
     
  11. spencers macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #11
    Good to hear you got it fixed. I don't plan on checking for it either. Ignorance is bliss!
     
  12. MacAddict2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    #12
    I am now on my second iMac 27" i7 with this issue. I just hate having to have a machine taken apart only hour after opening, but if my third iMac also has this issue, I will definitely be taking it to the store cause I'm sick and tired of not having a computer. It's been almost two months since I sold my MacBook Pro. All I have are these slow (but yet flawless and defective-free) PowerPC Macs. The third time better be the charm.
     
  13. AxelMonkey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere between Heaven and Hell, Oregon
    #13
    You guys are kind of scaring me. lol. I just ordered my first Imac on friday(the spec or on my signature) I just hope it dont have no problems, it just seems to be sitting up in anchorage, AK. for the last couple days :( it needs to come home.
     
  14. Time Clock Guy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #14
    It's still happening...

    I just bought my 27 inch imac at Best Buy in spokane WA and it has no Airport. It's either loose, not seated properly, or missing. I'm going to bring it back tomorrow. It sucks because I spent a lot of time loading stuff onto it. Definitely the first thing to test when you buy a new iMac
     
  15. robby818 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    #15
    It's likely a 10.6.2 issue. wait until Apple releases 10.6.3 this week to see if it fixes the problem.

    I have a snow leopard retail dvd (10.6) but the 27" i7 will not boot off of it so I can't test this but I have read on the Apple discussion board that reverting to 10.6.1 fixed the problem.
     

Share This Page