No Apple Hardware Test Available

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fastlanephil, Jan 8, 2015.

  1. fastlanephil, Jan 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2015

    fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #1
    I received my 5.1 2009 3.46GHz twelve core Mac Pro from a seller on eBay and want to run the Apple hardware test but I can't bring it up by holding down the D key or the option-D key either.

    It looks like the Recovery volume is locked.

    I'm running OSX 10.9.3

    I guess I'll try doing a OS restore first and then a upgrade to Yosemite.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    That won't work on your older model. See this (quote below).

     
  3. omvs, Jan 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2015

    omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #3
    My understanding is AHT was on the install DVD's, so you had to have the disk in the drive to get it to run.

    Download the right version from here and put on a USB stick. This is how I run AHT on my 4,1 - I had a similar issue of no install disk when i got my machine.

    https://github.com/upekkha/AppleHardwareTest
     
  4. fastlanephil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #4
    Thanks for the link!

    I have the ROM flashed 5.1 2009 so I'm not certain if I should go with the 4.1 or the 5.1 file so I downloaded both and will see which one works.
     
  5. fastlanephil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #5
    I'm not having any luck getting Apple Hardware Test to come up after a shut down and holding the D key. I've unpacked the files(s) and have the system folder on the USB drive or should it stay on the desktop. I've tried it both ways.

    Could you tell me how you go about it. I'm using a USB 3.0 flash drive.

    Thanks.
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    Just follow the instruction on that link.

    1) The board ID for 4,1 or 5,1 is exactly the same (because they are the same), so it doesn't matter. I have a 4,1 (flashed 5,1), and AHT works fine with the 4,1 version AHT under Yosemite.

    2) Copy the ".diagnostics" (hidden folder) to your boot drive's /System/Library/CoreServices/ , no need any external device through out the whole procedure.

    3) Then reboot while holding d to start the diagnostic tools.

    Any clean install of OSX will delete the .diagnostics folder, and this may be the reason why AHT is disabled on your machine. For a normal OSX upgrade, it should remain.
     
  7. fastlanephil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #7
    I got the Apple Hardware Test to start up by holding down the D key but it freezes up right away. I tried upgrading to Yosemite but there was no change.

    Maybe there is a incompatibility with the 2TB Hitachi boot drive that came with this Mac Pro. The drive checks out in Disk Utility. I'll be changing boot drives and I'll try running it then.
     

Share This Page