No audio output detected!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by BigMacOS, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. BigMacOS, Aug 16, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012

    BigMacOS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    #1
    Hi,
    I'm experiencing a weird problem since 3 days.
    There is no audio at all in my mac pro. In the system preferences it says no audio output detected.
    I searched the web so i :
    - Reset the VRAM (commande option p r )
    - I repaired permissions.
    - I installed the lastest updates for my mac.
    - I made sur it's not an earphone problem (the red light of death), because there is no sound at all with or without the earphones.

    Now i know also that it's not a hardwar probem, because when i start my mac with the cmd+option+p+r it makes the starting sound!!!!

    Please help me, i bought this 2009's mac 3 days ago and i can't even listen to music :(
    Thank you

    PS : i have Mac OSX Lion
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What Mac OS X version do you use?
    And what device is listed in System Profiler (System Report) > Hardware > Audio?
     
  3. BigMacOS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    #3
    I have mac osx Lion and in the system -> audio : audio identifier: 0
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
  5. BigMacOS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    #5
    This is a clean install of Lion, i had leopard on it before and audio didn't work in leopard neither.
    Is it possible that it could be a hardwar problem even if i have the starting sound when a start my mac?
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    According to System Profiler it seems to be a hardware problem. Maybe investigate that further, since the audio identifier is set to 0.
     
  7. cantthinkofone macrumors 65816

    cantthinkofone

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    #7
    Google linein for os x. My MDD G4 says I don't have a output line.
     
  8. BigMacOS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    #8
    tried it, but it doesn't work, it says no audio device found. God...
     
  9. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #9
    If it's hosed in some way you can always get a low-cost USB audio device. Chances are it will sound better than built-in anyway.
     
  10. BigMacOS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    #10
    Ok thank you for all your replies.
    So for people who have the same problem as me and don't find a solution (and don't want to pay to repaire :p ) i solved my problem by installing AirPhones application on my iphone and Mac, so that the sound is streamed via wifi to my iphone.
    This way i don't have a completly mute mac. But it can be only temporary, because it works only when your connected to wifi and you know the sound in the iphone is poor.
     

Share This Page