No 'Backup' option when right clicking in iTunes?!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by coledog, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. coledog macrumors 6502a

    coledog

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roanoke, VA
    #1
    I noticed this first when I was trying to backup my 3G but thought nothing of it. Now I notice that the 'backup' option for my iPhone 3GS also isn't in the menu on iTunes when I right click on the phone.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #2
    I'm actually a little confused with mine as well. I've had it since Friday and it has not once backed up in iTunes. Without a manual backup option, I'm beginning to think it never will.
     
  3. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
  4. Yoneh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #4
    Resolution for no backup option

    o At first, close iTunes.
    o Then, open Terminal and type the following commands in:

    defaults write com.apple.iTunes DeviceBackupsDisabled -bool false

    defaults write com.apple.iTunes AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled -bool false
     
  5. jared2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #5
    Here's a great free app for PC and Mac that allows you to disable/enable the itunes from backing up your idevices.

    http://www.digidna.net/products/backoff/download
     
  6. MacAzur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #6
    :cool::cool::)

    Great it worked instantly, while I had been struggling with this problem for 2 hours, uninstalling and re-installing iTunes

    THANK a LOT! Yoneh
     
  7. patdodd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #7
    Thanks!

    Worked perfectly, Thank you!
     
  8. antar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    #8
    I have the same problem in Windows. Anyone knows how to fix this on Windows?
     
  9. blackchilliman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #9
    Did you ever resolve this problem? :confused:
     

Share This Page