No boot... At all

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mulo, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #1
    Hi all
    I hope some of you will know what is going on here.

    A website triggering WebGL caused a kernel panic, after which these lines shown in picture appear. Unfortunately I now have no boot. Verbose mode and Sudo mode are the only things working. Even recovery is dead, it will attempt to boot, completing half of the progress bar before turning to a grey screen for a while until it shuts down.

    Perhaps these error messages will mean something to someone.

    Br Mulo
     

    Attached Files:

  2. KoolStar macrumors demi-god

    KoolStar

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    I have had this happen to a few computers at our work. Taking it to the Genius bar resulted in a logic board replacement for GPU related issues every time.
     
  3. mulo thread starter macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #3
    That's what I'm getting at too...
    Connecting a second monitor, and thus forcing it to use the discrete graphics, clears the lines on screen, but still no boot.

    Even booting from usb, windows or os x, it is all the same, loads some, then flashes to grey screen and fires up fans...
     
  4. KoolStar macrumors demi-god

    KoolStar

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    Still seems like a logic board error that it is hanging on the boot of the airport card. We again had this issue and a logic board replacement was needed to fix it. You by any chance didn't install custom wifi/bt kernel kext to enable handoff and continuity on an older mac? We had this issue and ran fsck to get it to boot and then removed those it booted back up fine. Did you try holding shift to boot safe mode?
     
  5. mulo thread starter macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #5
    /sbin/fsck-fy returns the picture below.
    Safe mode is a no-show. Same as the others, grey screen then fans.

    Sudo mode, and verbose mode are the only things that "work" at this stage.

    And no, no mods to enable handoff, though that would have been nice....
     

    Attached Files:

  6. mulo thread starter macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #6
    I love the high speed image capturing on iPhone :)

    This is displayed on the very first second of verbose mode.

    Also /sbin/fsck -fy resolves nothing, although it did make modifications
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mulo thread starter macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #7
    I disconnected the airport card, but it still halts at the same spot.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. KoolStar macrumors demi-god

    KoolStar

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
  9. mulo thread starter macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #9
    Yes, I ran /sbin/fsck -fy a couple times
     
  10. KoolStar macrumors demi-god

    KoolStar

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #10
    I still think its a logic board issue, that is going to require it be replaced. What model and year is computer?
     
  11. mulo thread starter macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #11
    It's a. 2011 17" MBP
     
  12. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #12
    That looks like an issue related to "radeongate", so, yes, logicboard replacement comes next.

    Apple should fix this for you.
     
  13. mulo, Jun 6, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2015

    mulo thread starter macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #13
    Well spotted! I didn't know about this.

    And I just about bought a new one!....
     
  14. KoolStar macrumors demi-god

    KoolStar

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #14
    That is why I wanted to know what model, but yes it is under apples replacement plan due to that well know issue.
     

Share This Page