No boot sound after SSD and HDD upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by abcdefg12345, Jun 5, 2014.

  1. abcdefg12345, Jun 5, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2014

    abcdefg12345 macrumors regular

    abcdefg12345

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    #1
    i have a macbook pro 13 inch early 2011 and i installed an OWC 120gb mercury electra SSD in main drive bay and used the data doubler to install 1TB HDD in instead of the optical drive and everything is working fine except that i noticed that when i turn it on i don't hear the sound i used to hear before when i used to turn it on

    i used to hear some sort of mechanical sound when i turn it on (not the HDD sound) but now all i hear when i press the power button is the HDD starting to spin and then.

    is it normal, like did the sound i used to hear come from the optical drive and now that it isn't there the sound is gone or did i mess something up in the installation
     
  2. SVTmaniac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #2
    It was the optical drive you heard before. Long as it's all working properly now you have nothing to worry about.
     
  3. abcdefg12345 thread starter macrumors regular

    abcdefg12345

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    #3
    thanks just had to make sure didn't mess anything up and also do you know how to stop the hard drive from spinning up every few minutes i used "sudo pmset -a disk sleep 1" to make it spin down after 1 minute but it keeps spinning back up every about 5 minutes
     
  4. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #4
  5. abcdefg12345 thread starter macrumors regular

    abcdefg12345

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    #5
  6. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #6
    What is on the HDD? If the OS needs it, it will spin up.
     
  7. abcdefg12345 thread starter macrumors regular

    abcdefg12345

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    #7
    The HD has two partitions 1 running os x yosemite and the other windows 8.1 so the os decent need it.

    after quitting iStat menus the problem got fixed so i guess its getting spun up because iStat was monitoring some of its activity
     
  8. MacjP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    #8
    Can I borrow this thread to ask you if you have any pictures of inside of the mbp when you installed both disks, because I am planing to do the same thing. Did u also install any disk stander-like component to hold the disk or how did you manage to make it all happen? I also wonder if the performance was improved or not? I was losing my mind yesterday while doing project in imovie, even virtual machine doesnt work well for me, so upgrade is a must for me.. I have mbp early 2011 (4gb ram..)
     
  9. abcdefg12345 thread starter macrumors regular

    abcdefg12345

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    #9
    Screen Shot 2014-06-08 at 2.13.11 pm.png

    Screen Shot 2014-06-08 at 2.14.09 pm.png

    Screen Shot 2014-06-08 at 2.14.52 pm.png

    Screen Shot 2014-06-08 at 2.15.22 pm.png

    and thats where i got the SSD from

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/DDMBS6E120/

    they have videos on how to install them

    and i also upgraded the ram from 4gb to 8gb
     
  10. Intelligent macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #10
    Try a NVRAM reset. Press cmd+alt/option+p+r on startup.
     

Share This Page