No bootable device, trying to bootcamp. Help!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jiiziiz, Sep 29, 2013.

  1. jiiziiz macrumors newbie

    jiiziiz

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #1
    I want to install bootcamp on my Macbook Pro. It's a late 2011 13 inch. I have mountain lion. I followed instructions to make the option for making a version install disk on a usb stick from an iso image of windows 7. Well, the bootcamp process seemed to be working fine until it got to the point where it automatically restarted to install windows and a black screen with white text came up that said "No bootable device - insert boot disk and press any key" although my usb with the boot disk was in my computer and it wouldn't let me press any key.

    Also, Important. I know how to use the option key and get back to my OSX hard drive. That is not the issue. the issue is that I can't seem to make my usb bootable. Or something like that. I'm not the most tech savvy person ever, fyi.
    When I go into disk utility and go to info on my usb which I made into a windows partition thing using boot camp, it says Bootable: No. I'm assuming it needs to be YES in order to boot from it... how do I make it bootable? Shouldn't it have done that in boot camp assistant?

    I hope that made sense. I have tried with multiple usbs. Nothing seems to work. I tried pvram reset, someone suggested that. Didn't work. repaired disks, etc.

    Please help, I am at a loss and very frustrated! :mad:
     
  2. stiligFox macrumors 65816

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #2
    It's been a while since I last install windows on my Mac, but what happens if you hold down option right after the boot up chime? It should show you a list of drives to boot from - Macintosh HD, Recovery HD, and (hopefully) your thumb drive. You can then boot it from there and be on your way, if that's how it works.
     
  3. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #3
    You have to use the optical drive to install Windows. A USB drive won't work.
     
  4. jiiziiz thread starter macrumors newbie

    jiiziiz

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #4
    It shows my macintosh HD and a recovery disk.

    ----------

    I know people say that but it is possible. I followed instructions to make it possible.
     
  5. stiligFox macrumors 65816

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #5
    This is most peculiar. I've always just used a super drive. It may be that the drive didn't get created right, have you tried remaking the USB drive? Is the original image uncorrupted?
     
  6. jiiziiz thread starter macrumors newbie

    jiiziiz

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #6
    I don't have a disk though, so I can't use super drive. I just have a usb and iso image.

    I have tried remaking it yes. I don't see why the original image would be corrupted if it's from microsoft?
     
  7. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #7
    DVD-Rs are not expensive. Pick some up and burn the image using ISO 9660 format (UDF will not work). That would take less time and be less trouble than you're currently experiencing.

    The only other method that could potentially work without using the SuperDrive is the VMWare/Virtualbox trick. It's far more reliable than attempting to use USB on a system that doesn't support it. Do a web search for it. There are several guides.
     

Share This Page