no carrier name ?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Tex-Twil, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #1
    Hi,
    I've just JailBreaked my 3GS from 3.0.1 (JB) to 3.1.0 but now I don't see the name of my carrier. I'm not using the unlock since I'm on my official carrier.

    Is this normal ?

    Thanks,
    Tex
     
  2. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #2
    Yes it's normal. Check out something like "FakeCarrier" on Cydia if you want to get it back...or at least the aesthetics of getting it back.
     
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    Tex,

    Another 3 post thread !

    Try MRoogle ! (see my sig)
     
  4. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #4
    so this is specific to a 3.1 firmware ? I had no problems on 3.0.1. Edit: Oh now I see the dev-team comment:

    .. but I have no carrier unlock.

    @dhlizard: ok sorry, I've just bookmarcked MRoogle.
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    The lower base band, 4.26.xx doesn't correctly report the carrier info to the newer firmware 3.1.x. MuscleNerd has tweeted that a fix is coming, but who knows when.
     
  6. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #6
    ok I understand now. Thanks.

     
  7. navigates macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #7
    3.1.2 unlock and jailbreak is out. do blackra1n and the snow. You'll be on latest firmware and baseband with unlock & jailbreak. So at this moment, no point to stay at 3.0 basebands.
     
  8. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #8
    I read here that some people with 3.1.2 have battery issues so I don't want to risk this.

    As far as the baseband is concerned, I also do not want to update to the latest (v05.11.07). According to the devteam, there is no point in having the latest

     
  9. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #9
    hi,
    I reopen this thread. I just updated to iOS4, I still have baseband 4.26 and again I can't see my official carrier logo.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Install ultrasnow thru cydia and it will show up.
     
  11. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #11
    ultrasnow 0.93 from repo666.ultrasn0w.com ?
     
  12. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe

Share This Page