No Chime - My problems seem to be going from bad to worse

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by machenryr, Jun 9, 2019.

  1. machenryr, Jun 9, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2019

    machenryr macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #1
    It must be a dying MacPro? This is 2009, 5,1 3.46 gz. Various issues have cropped up that I THINK are not related to this machine, but there have been so many I might just break down and take it to the Apple Store.

    The latest is trying to install High Sierra and then Mojave. Of course I had to go through all the rigamorole of getting a metal GPU, flashing the firmware up to 138.0after installing High Sierra from Sierra. Then it was installing High Sierra twice, the second time to a second SSD I forgot I had tried. It might have been Mojave. Anyway when it completed it restarted. But it never came back. I waited for 30/45 minutes. Then I hit shutdown/start but I no longer get a chime. No screen. No chime.

    Luckily I still have boot drive with Sierra on it. Put that in and it eventually came back. Suggestions? I'm going to try and boot into the last High Sierra again. See what happens. I saw someone else here had a panic with no chime. I haven't finished reading that thread.
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    Apple store won't help you.

    It seems you have a 4,1 >5,1 firmware conversion (unsupported/unauthorized by Apple)
    You have have a 3.46 CPU (unsupported/unauthorized by Apple)

    The machine is already so old, I don't think they would work on it anyway.

    Have you done a full NVRAM reset, and an SMC reset?
     
  3. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #3
    Thanks No I haven't. I thought so. It comes back, but I have no chime or indication. I think I may have prematurely aborted the OS updates.

    Is the full NVRAM reset the Pram reset? I don't know how to do that without the chime.
     
  4. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #4
    Chime isn't strictly necessary to do the reset. Just power on the cMP and immediately hold down Command+Option+P+R. You should get some indication that something is happening by your monitor's backlight coming on, off, and on again as each reset occurs. Barring that, just keep the keys held down for a full minute or so.

    And this may sound crazy but after you boot back into macOS make sure you don't have mute on. I think the chime is sometimes supressed on purpose to honor your mute setting. That's been hit or miss for me over the years but something to check anyway.
     
  5. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    I’m just going to add this...

    Make sure your speakers are powered on / plugged in Correctly

    Also check your sound settings for the proper output device. Sometimes updates will alter this...

    Do you have software installed that effects sound settings.. Boom, Boom2, Boom3D etc... Perhaps something you use in your music business.

    I had the same problem at one time. The solution was to remove Boom software, do an NVRAM reset, reboot and fix output device to proper settings..... No problems since.
     
  6. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #6
    Hm. Maybe. Thanks. But I’m just talking the chime from the Mac itself. I did disconnect the sound card/system. But i can still hear the box itself. Unless I’m really fooling myself. No. I’ve been doh g this for the last two or three days without the sound system and I’ve been hearing it BECAUSE I’ve been TRYING TO DO THESE FRIGGING OS UPDATES forever. Lol. And yes, I’m done. Now I just have to transfer applications and documents. And figure out this chime thing. But at least it’s working.

    I DID hear the beep when updating the firmware.
     
  7. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #7
    It's likely you need to go to your sound settings, set the proper output device and increase the volume. There's probably nothing wrong at all...
     
  8. machenryr, Jun 9, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2019

    machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #8
    Thank you. I will check this out the next time I’m in the studio. I hope so. I’m just excited I have Mavericks installed in my SSD PCIE. I’ve had such remarkable problems. They’re not all gone but I’ve taken a major step forward!!!! And I didn’t even WANT Mojave. Lol.
     
  9. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #9
    Mavericks? Are you sure? Mavericks don't have any support whatsoever for NVMe.
     
  10. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #10
    Well I don’t know what that sentence even means. But it’s on my PCIe SSD.
     
  11. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #11
    Mavericks is OS X version 10.9. Mojave is macOS 10.14. What macOS version you installed?
     
  12. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #12
    Oh man. I’m sorry. I mean Mojave. Lol. Corrected.
     

Share This Page

11 June 9, 2019