No "Computer Sleep" setting in Energy Saver for nMP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by michaeljk, Jan 4, 2014.

  1. michaeljk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    #1
    I did a search to see if this has already been covered but didn't find anything. I just noticed on my nMP that there is no separate "Computer Sleep" bar or setting available. Instead, there is a checkbox that says "Prevent computer from sleeping automatically when the display is off." This is not checked by default. I hadn't noticed this, so when I went to sleep, I left about 700 GB of stuff copying from my old FW 800 HD to my new TB1 HD. When I got up this morning, nearly all of the new folders were inaccessible, I presume because the computer went to sleep midway through the copy (in any case, before it could complete and verify the copy). Maybe this is not normally an issue, but I also noticed that in the Separate OS settings for one of my displays (NEC PA271) the default setting is to turn the computer OFF (not just sleep) after two hours. So, I suppose the NEC turned off, which then turned my MacBook off.

    Now I have the checkbox in Energy Saver checked, so my computer won't go to sleep if my display turns off (I don't know if this includes the monitor going to sleep). I also changed the settings in my Monitor so it doesn't turn off anymore. I will have to experiment with this new energy saver approach.
     
  2. ABCDEF-Hex macrumors 6502

    ABCDEF-Hex

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Location:
    NC
    #2
    Thanks - nice find.

    It's always the small details that go over-looked.
     
  3. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #3
    Thanks for pointing this out... I was planning to transfer a ton of stuff this evening. It is a different setup than on my old Mac Pro... Box now checked! :)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Cubemmal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #4
    Typical Apple. With PowerNap they figure that they can take away the ability for you to decide when the computer sleeps. The flip side of that is that this is probably better for most people, as their computers aren't doing anything other than burning energy while they're away, and with PowerNap now it can still stay up to date. Also sleep is problematic, it's hard for the OS to decide when the computer is doing something and when its not.

    And to be honest I never know what display and computer sleep settings to put in, this consolidates it to one slider on how long for it to keep awake for you.
     
  5. michaeljk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    #5
    Yeah, it might be better once I figure out how to make sure the settings in my monitors and computer are all consistent. I am currently doing a complete swipe of my nMP internal SSD and a fresh Mavericks reinstall because I also discovered that the "migration assistant" didn't copy over all the files from my application installs from my iMac Time Machine backup (or they weren't there in the first place). I don't know if this is because the Time Capsule on my network timed out, or the network timed out, or who knows what. After finding out that essential files were missing from Logic, Office, and all my Native Instruments files, I gave up with trying to figure out what to remove and reinstall. I will then do a clean install of all my apps. I guess that is okay because who knows what kind of kludge was hanging around in all those library files after all these years (I had the iMac since 2008 and used Target Disk Mode with an older MBP to carry everything over from that Mac). So, it's been 8-10 years since I've done a complete scratch install of everything.
     
  6. Einz macrumors regular

    Einz

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Miami
    #6
    I don't know if there is a sleep issue with external drives? Sometimes when my nMP wakes, my drives are inaccessible.

    I also like the old separate monitor/CPU sleep arrangement better. The damn nMP is so quiet. I can't tell if it's on or off. I missed the light on the power button of my old MP.
     
  7. michaeljk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    #7
    It looks to me like the power button backlight is on when the nMP is on, even when the accelerometer hasn't turned the rest of the port lights on. For now, as I rearrange things in the ports (making changes as I pick up the right adapters and cables for old and new equipment), I am leaving the port side as the front of my Mac (I think it looks cooler anyway and it has the Apple symbol there).
     
  8. Einz macrumors regular

    Einz

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Miami
    #8
    Would be cool to have a glowing logo on the front or the top like the ones on the MacBooks. It doesn't have to be big .
     

Share This Page