No dialer when making phone calls from mac?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by maccuser, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. maccuser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #1
    any way to get a dialer to punch in numbers when necessary when calling from mac?
    why is it missing this feature, quite important.

    Is it me or yosemite has a lag?
     
  2. Merode macrumors 6502

    Merode

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Warszawa, Poland
    #2
    Open Facetime app, type in phone number and press phone icon. It's that easy.. :)
     
  3. airlied macrumors regular

    airlied

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #3

    Good!
     
  4. BSben macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Or install Continuity Keypad, a free app that allows you to dial from notification centre
     
  5. maccuser thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #5
    No punching numbers during a call when it asks u to press 3 for this department or 2 for sales ., u get the idea its dum that it doesn't have it
     
  6. Merode macrumors 6502

    Merode

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Warszawa, Poland
    #6
    Good point. I wonder if there's some way around it..
     
  7. brian017 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Location:
    Kilkenny, Ireland
    #7
    Can You transfer an existing call to a Mac and vice versa? Or is it only for starting calls ?
     
  8. Scott90 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #8
    You can just hit the number on your keyboard and it will go through on your phone.
     
  9. ivnj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    #9
    That's because its a computer not a cellphone. Computers do not make phone calls. Facetime is not the same thing.
     
  10. thirdeyeopen666 macrumors 6502

    thirdeyeopen666

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #10
    link could have been helpful
     
  11. Merode macrumors 6502

    Merode

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Warszawa, Poland
    #11
    You're so wrong about this.. Modern cellphones ARE computers. Apple just made them talk with Mac and you can make phone calls from Mac. Of course, your phone's antenna will be utilised as peripherial.
     
  12. ivnj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    #12
    WOW, I feel so old...
     
  13. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #13
    Just press the number key you want. No there is no GUI to click on a number pad but the number keys <just> work.
     
  14. Merode macrumors 6502

    Merode

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Warszawa, Poland
    #14
    Sorry, I didn't mean to make you feel that way.. :-(

    Still, if you have you iPhone with iOS 8 nearby Mac with Yosemite (both on same WiFi and with Bluetooth on), you'll be able to make and answer phonecalls. After iOS 8.1 gets released today, you'll also be able to receive and send text messages.
     
  15. nobodyjustwalks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    #15
    Just to clarify, you do not need Bluetooth for the call function to work. It will work fine as long as both devices are on the same wifi network. Bluetooth is required for the Handoff features.
     
  16. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #16
    Highlight "Continuity Keypad" then right click to search Google, top choice in results

    Here is the link anyway
     
  17. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #17
    Thanks for sharing this find. Very handy - especially the NC widget !! :p
     
  18. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #18
    It showed once in NC. After I closed NC, I don't see it anymore. How do you bring it forward?

    Edited to add: Nevermind. I found it.
     

Share This Page