No disc when asked where to install OS X

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Jake2191, May 21, 2016.

  1. Jake2191 macrumors newbie

    Jake2191

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    #1
    Hoping someone can help me because Apple were unable to do so over the phone and don't seem to offer Genius Bar assistance for iMacs.



    I'm trying to factory restore my iMac 5K late 2014 model as I'm selling it.



    I've gone into the CMD R screen, deleted the partition I was advised to in the written instructions.

    Click on install new OS X, go through and agree to everything for El Capitan.



    Then it asks which disk is this being installed too... Only a Back up HD shows, which is locked and not an option.



    Over the phone I was guided into the Internet recovery, told to check out the Macintosh HD and hit repair.

    Went through all good and green.



    Went to Reinstall OS X.



    Go to install YOSEMITE as it's the default OS X.

    I'm again asked to select a disc in which there is nothing to select.



    I was then guided into the terminal screen but the command code for discutil were not showing.



    I've googled the hell out of this and it all seems to be people adding new Hard Drives... The resolutions dont seem to apply.



    The only discs that show are Macintosh HD, below this is a line which follows with disk2 and OS X Base System coming from it.



    If someone could please assist it would be mostly appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    Try doing a full erase and repartition using Utilities > Disk Utility. Highlight the drive, click on the Partition tab, select "1 Partition", name it Macintosh HD, and hit apply.
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    It sounds like you deleted the old partition but didn't create a new one. redheeler's instructions should sort it out; I'm just answering the "why?" :)
     
  4. Jake2191 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jake2191

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    #4
    Thanks for your replies!

    I've solved it, gave Apple another call.
    We had to basically rebuild the fusion drive using the terminal screen. Was a relief!
     
  5. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #5
    I actually think this is a major issue.
    I have had similar problems when erasing the MacintoshHD partition in Disk Utility to reinstall OS X. On 3 occasions, I have had to contact Apple support, and each time the Fusion Drive core storage had to be rebuilt. This in turn destroyed my Bootcamp partition and all the hassle that caused to reinstall Windows 10!
     

Share This Page