No Entry Sign

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by NacMitch, Jul 12, 2015.

  1. NacMitch, Jul 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2015

    NacMitch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #1
    G'day y'all,

    I was trying to set up a hack for my ATV1 on a USB using my MacBook Pro. The last step was:

    diskutil eject /dev/disk1

    I forgot to change disk1 to disk2, then my MacBook froze. I forced a shutdown, but now it shows the No Entry sign after I enter the vault login.

    Does anyone have any idea on what I can do?

    Thank you,

    Nei
     
  2. NacMitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #2
    Sorry, I should say I'm using OS X Yosemite.

    Will running Restore wipe any documents, downloads or programs? (I can get access to the Restore screen.)

    Thank you,
     
  3. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #3
    hold option as you boot and select your hard drive
     
  4. NacMitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #4
    Thanks lowendlinux! I'll try that when I get home
     
  5. NacMitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #5
    Hi lowendlinux, sorry, I still get the no entry symbol. I can reboot to the restore and disk utility options by holding down the Cmd & R keys, but the install a new OS X doesn't work.

    Out of interest, while there should be some 300GB of free space on the .5 TB HDD, there is only 19 MB free now - guess that's why the OS install didn't work.

    I might take the HDD out and see if I can analyse it for any problems.

    Any other ideas?

    Thank you,

    Neil
     
  6. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #6
    I have no good ideas, ejecting your disk should not have messed with file vault at all. The disk space could be taken up by time machine local backups but meh. Pull the disk and have a look you'll know more than you do now.

    The thing that's strange is your boot drive should be /dev/disk0 so you shouldn't have ejected your boot drive causing a lock up. I'd be curious to see what a diskutil list says.

    Did you try safe mode?
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    That is normal because you have FileVault turned on. The encrypted core storage volume used for Filevault fills the entire drive, even though the "vault" container may not be full.

    When you are in recovery can you go to the File menu in Disk Util and mount the encrypted volume? If so, enter the password then try to repair the disk.
     
  8. NacMitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #8
    Thanks, I'll try starting in safe mode!
     
  9. NacMitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #9
    Thanks Weaselboy, I didn't know that.

    I tried to do this last night, but wasn't prompted for the vault password. If I can't start in safe mode and fix it, I'll post up some screen pics later.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  10. NacMitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #10
    Hi all, thank you for all your help. It seems something very wrong has happened. Whenever I try to Reinstall OS X, or try Startup Disk, it seems to try, then it says the disk is not available.
     
  11. NacMitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
  12. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #12
    Do you have your data backed up somewhere off that drive? I ask because I think we are going to need to delete the FileVault volume the reformat and reinstall the OS to try and get you fixed up.
     
  13. NacMitch, Jul 14, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2015

    NacMitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #13
    Thanks Weaselboy, yes, there is an iCloud backup, which was originally backed up when the Yosemite OS upgrade was installed, but for the last couple (few?) months it didn't seem to like my password. I've checked my iCloud today, but it doesn't seem to be there. :-(

    Last night I held down Cmd+Option+R and tried to reinstall the original OS (Lion?). It seemed to start ok, but it didn't accept any passwords. I think I might have messed vault up by doing that?

    Is it possible to buy another HDD to get up and running, then try to mount the original HDD to try to fix it and access it? Or is there any bootable USB software which can work with Vault?

    Thank you!
     
  14. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #14
    What you could do is install a new drive then use Internet recovery to install the original OS, then update to Yosemite from there. Then put the bad drive in an external USB enclosure and try to mount it and open the vault and recover data from there.
     

Share This Page