no expose with Miagic Mouse?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by zoran, Dec 2, 2009.

  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Is there a gesture in the magic mouse that can do the Epose All Windows option?
     
  2. rkmac macrumors 6502

    rkmac

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    JAFA, New Zealand
    #2
    install BetterTouchTools (link)
    you can add gestures for all sorts of different things, and customize the Magic Mouse to do what you want.
     
  3. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #3
  4. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

    MooneyFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
  5. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    so say i can put a gesture with 5 fingers for expose? can it do that sort of thing?
     
  6. playalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #6
    Yeah best thing to do is download it and see. It can do no harm. I've been using it for a few weeks on 3 different macs. No problems here.
     
  7. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #7
    Ive been using BTT for a while and I love it.

    The earlier versions were a bit rough but the ones out now are excellent and they update all the time.

    I use it to add expose w/ three finger tap or as a third button when working in Maya.
     
  8. topmounter macrumors 68020

    topmounter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    FEMA Region VIII
    #8
    I've been running BetterTouchTool since I got my Magic Mouse and it has never caused any problems.
     
  9. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Calif
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Just set up a Hot Corner for Expose. Works great!
     
  11. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

    MooneyFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    I don't think you can do a 5 finger swipe but you can do 3 fingers... or "whole hand on mouse" or some other stuff like that.. Works well, frequent updates.
     
  12. YMark macrumors 6502a

    YMark

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona
    #12
    I've been using BTT for a couple of weeks, ever since I got my Magic Mouse. In fact, BTT is the reason I decided to get the MM.

    The only real quirk I've found is that if you use fast user switching, BTT locks up your computer. So, it is a single user application.
     
  13. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
  14. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

    MooneyFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    I'm not having that problem -- at least I haven't seen it. Is it if you have fast user switching available or if you actually switch users? (I'm wondering if I've switched users since I've installed BTT :confused: and hesitant to do it now!)
     
  15. YMark macrumors 6502a

    YMark

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona
    #15
    It happens if you actually switch users. And it doesn't happen immediately. It happens after maybe 10 minutes of use. Be prepared to do a power cycle to recover. Sleep doesn't recover.
     
  16. CristobalHuet macrumors 65816

    CristobalHuet

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal
    #16
    BTT is as stable as it goes now, a lot of the bugs are being ironed out and a new version is coming tomorrow with the ability to add modifier keys! :D
     
  17. MMM.PWR macrumors 6502

    MMM.PWR

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #17
    How IS the Magic Mouse? I'm looking for a mouse for working with Photoshop (so it has to be extremely accurate), what do you guys suggest?
     
  18. glavoie84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #18
    Just got a Magic Mouse and I installed BetterTouchTool. I just love this application! It's something that should have been provided directly by Apple...

    My config:
    3 fingers swipe down: Expose
    3 fingers swipe up: Desktop

    Both to gimmick the 4 fingers swipe up and down of the MultiTouch trackpad.

    3 fingers tap: Dashboard
    3 fingers click: Cmd-Click so I can open a new tabs with links in FireFox.

    It's enough for now! ;)
     
  19. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Calif
    #19
    Yeah i dont understand why you have to go thru a third party developer to get something that Apple can easily do.
     
  20. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #20
    Well if Apple did everything what would all the other 3rd party developers do? Become burglars? :D
     

Share This Page