No full screen chess?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by FroColin, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. FroColin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #1
    "Full-screen Chess
    Take Chess full screen and turn your Mac into a virtual chessboard."

    Where is this? I have the GM and there is no full screen chess?!? Not that it matters at all, I haven't played chess since the first time I got a mac but still it's quite hilarious, this is a feature that actually doesn't exist in Lion but is advertised as one of the 250

    Is this just me? Does your chess have a full screen option?
     
  2. Steve's Barber macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #2
    LOL. Was wondering if I was the only one who saw this. Thought maybe I didn't know how to use it. Not booted into Lion right now but did notice the same old chess app when I tried.

    Stop the presses. GM2! :D
     
  3. iSimx macrumors 6502

    iSimx

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #4
    That IS weird, but surely "full screen chess" can't count as one of the new features of Lion... :D
     
  4. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #5
    If I remember correctly, Chess has never been full screen (?).

    Maybe they forgot to update it. Maybe Steve got fed up with Chess.
     
  5. MacBookPro13" macrumors 6502a

    MacBookPro13"

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    Am I the only one who laughed at this thread title? :D


    Felt as if the OP was going to say "STOP the Lion production, major bug found!!! We need full screen chess before shipping the final release!" ;)
     
  6. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #7
    It is in the new features!
     
  7. MacBookPro13" macrumors 6502a

    MacBookPro13"

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    I know that :)

    Should be fixed in the 10.7.1 update, as long as Apple are aware of it of course, which I'm sure they are.
     
  8. ErikGrim macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #9
    Odd. It was there in DP3-4, but gone in GM. Must have replaced it with earlier build by accident as I'm sure it's not at the top of their priorities.

    Or maybe they just realised how absurdly awful those textured looked at 2560x1440 ;)
     
  9. FroColin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #10
    Hahahaha no no, I don't care, I just think it's really funny, there are really only 249 new features. And GM is never different then the release so I'm assuming it will be released with 249 features. It's funny to see how that slipped through the cracks. Or maybe it didn't, was it really there in DP3-4? I never noticed it. But maybe they intentionally took it out. False advertising, we should sue :p (I'm kidding of course)
     
  10. ErikGrim macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #11
    Yeah. I tested it when I saw it in the feature list. It looked pretty bad. Not something I'd advertise. Probably put in "just because we can".
     

Share This Page