iPad mini NO GLONASS in new Ipads, why ?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by joe mann, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. joe mann macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Location:
    puerto vallarta
    #1
    No GLONASS in new iPad Air and mini Retina, confirmed by Apple site and representative, any hunch?

    iPads selling to Russia aren't new generation but last that certainly included GLONASS. Interesting. iPhone 5s, does include, why iPads doesn't?
     
  2. TheAppleFairy, Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013

    TheAppleFairy macrumors 68020

    TheAppleFairy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Location:
    The Clinton Archipelago unfortunately
    #2
    I don't think the site confirms it's "NOT" there, it just doesn't say that it is included.

    If you look at the old iPad mini it only says "assisted GPS" it doesn't say it has GLONASS either.
     
  3. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    https://discussions.apple.com/message/23751029#23751029

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GLONASS

    Smartphones and Tablets also saw implementation of GLONASS support in 2011 with devices released that year from Xiaomi Tech Company (Xiaomi Phone 2), Sony Ericsson, Samsung (the Google Nexus 10 in late 2012), Asus, Apple (iPhone 4S and iPad Mini in late 2012) and HTC adding support for the system allowing increased accuracy and lock on speed in difficult conditions.[19][20][21]


    http://www.engadget.com/2013/10/22/ipad-air-ipad-mini-with-retina-display-whats-new/
    Location (3G / LTE) aGPS, GLONASS, Cellular, WiFi
     
  4. joe mann thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Location:
    puerto vallarta
    #4
    You are right, in USA Apple Store it doesn't mention Glonass. But in this other, as in Russian one, http://store.apple.com/mx/buy-ipad/ipad-mini, going to tech specs tab, at right, it says it has (or had). Talked to a representative and confirmed new ones doesn't.
     
  5. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    The Mini 1 has Glonass, but if you go to Apple's Russian page for the Mini 1, it doesn't mention it.
     
  6. TheAppleFairy macrumors 68020

    TheAppleFairy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Location:
    The Clinton Archipelago unfortunately
    #6

    Not mentioning a spec doesn't mean it doesn't have it. Talking to an employee about specs like this is worthless. I'd be willing to bet it has it, I guess you'll have to wait and see.
     
  7. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    Be dumb for Apple to sell a GPS device in Russia that doesn't support Russia's GPS system. Kind of like it would be dumb to only sell CDMA devices in countries that only have LTE.
     
  8. TheAppleFairy macrumors 68020

    TheAppleFairy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Location:
    The Clinton Archipelago unfortunately
    #8

    Yeah, but the OP contacted a high school kid working at Apple who said it doesn't.
     
  9. joe mann, Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013

    joe mann thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Location:
    puerto vallarta
    #9
  10. Julien, Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013

    Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #10
    GPS (like GLONASS) works everywhere on earth.


    EDIT: The advantage to having GLONASS doesn't just benefit Russia. It benefits everyone equally because having both in a device can make it more accurate.
     
  11. TheAppleFairy macrumors 68020

    TheAppleFairy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Location:
    The Clinton Archipelago unfortunately
    #11
    Agreed, but I believe it most likely has GLONASS regardless of what the OP has been told. I am not 100% but I don't think it's something they would suddenly stop supporting, unless there is a good reason.
     
  12. Richdmoore macrumors 65816

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #12
    I remember reading that is was illegal in Russia after a certain date to sell gps only devices, it was a requirement to also support glonass. I can't back that up with specific documentation however.

    Even of glonass support is missing, gps is a very robust system on it's own. Even better, if it supports Waas (and you have a waas satellite in view) it is extrmely accurate. The Faa publishes a real time and "report card" about the system performance.

    http://www.nstb.tc.faa.gov/RT_WaasSatelliteStatus.htm

    I don't remember if the ipad gps support waas, but all except the very, very first mfi bluetooth gps are waas capable.
     
  13. joe mann thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Location:
    puerto vallarta
    #13
    That's it, Julien, so that's why i find it odd that Apple drops GLONASS. Not that GPS per se isn't good enough, but russian system is a very good complement. The more the better.
     
  14. darngooddesign, Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013

    darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #14
    We don't know for sure if it is missing. Apple doesn't specifically mention now, so if you person you asked just looked at the posted specs they would only see assisted GPS. We don't know how far he/she went for the info.

    http://www.engadget.com/2013/10/22/ipad-air-ipad-mini-with-retina-display-whats-new/
    The Engadget article lists it in the info Apple gave them. Might be worthwhile sending an email to anandtech who tends to have detailed hardware info.



    http://support.apple.com/kb/index?page=search&q=Assisted GPS
    But then again, its specifically listed for the earlier iPads but not the new ones so who knows.
     

Share This Page