No GPS without SIM card? Using old addresses?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by benci007, Jul 26, 2009.

  1. benci007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    #1
    So I recently moved to South Korea and decided to use my iPhone as a VOIP phone only. So far, so good. The only thing that is weird is that my GPS is not working properly. I was under the impression that GPS is independent of cell service (at least in an open area, without the assistance of cell towers) so I could use it with maps over wifi.

    Instead, when I go to maps, the blue dot comes up, and pinpoints on my old address in California! No matter what I do, that seems to happen. All apps that use GPS also revert to that original location. I have tried with my de-activated SIM card in, and it still happens. I have tried in airplane mode also, and the same thing happens.

    Any advice? Is there any way to restore functionality to my GPS? I understand that it won't be 100% like it used to, being that the full functionality relies on getting locations from cell towers, but even being able to use it while walking around the city would be very helpful.

    Thanks!
     
  2. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #2
    The GPS inside the iphone is really an AGPS. I needs to use the satalights and cell towers to find your location. No service, no GPS.
     
  3. benci007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    #3
    Well...

    isn't that just a bummer :)

    I guess I'll have to live without it for a year. Blast.
     
  4. applecheese macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #4

    WRONG
     
  5. benci007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    #5
    Update

    It DOES work! I just have to be in a totally open, outdoor area. Certainly better than nothing!
     
  6. dave006 Contributor

    dave006

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Just West of East
    #6
    Yes it works without cell coverage but as you noticed that without the AGPS that is provided by the cell towers it takes longer and requires a clear line of sight to the GPS sat or a registered WiFi Access Point. :)

    You can also take advantage of some WiFi locations that are registered in the SKYHOOK system or register one. Here is a helpful link: http://skyhookwireless.com/howitworks/submit_ap.php

    Dave
     

Share This Page