no hdd 320g but only showing 110.4

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by velvetelvis, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. velvetelvis macrumors 6502

    velvetelvis

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #1
    title says it. i just put my new 320gig hdd and its only showing a 110gigs available. ummm, thats not right. any help?
     
  2. MM07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #2
    I would use disk utility and take a look to see what happened.

    You might be able to make the partition full that way.
     
  3. velvetelvis thread starter macrumors 6502

    velvetelvis

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #3
    thats what told me how much room i had. how do make it read what i actually have?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. velvetelvis thread starter macrumors 6502

    velvetelvis

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #4
    and here is a pic of my system profile
     

    Attached Files:

  5. RaceTripper macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #5
    Something is definitely hinky. I would try deleting the partition and reformatting.

    Here's mine (same drive)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. velvetelvis thread starter macrumors 6502

    velvetelvis

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #6
    ok, so i went in and tried to delete my partition, but it still says i have 110.07
     
  7. phjo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #7
    There is definitely something quite weird going on here...

    As RaceTripper, I do have the same 320Gb wd hd, on a first generation white macbook (2Ghz with superdrive model) and no problem.

    As with RaceTripper, there is a slight difference however :

    model name of my hd is : WDC WD3200BEVT-00ZCT0

    yours is WDC WD3200BEVT-22ZCT0

    That being said it doesn't explain much as googling this model name gave several macbook pro users happy with it... obviously something is wrong either with your macbook, or with the harddrive. I would try to put it in an external SATA enclosure and play with disk utility to see if the total capacity is correctly found, and if you can test it with another computer, that would be helpful as well...

    My guess is that you'll have to get the harddrive exchanged...

    phjo
     
  8. velvetelvis thread starter macrumors 6502

    velvetelvis

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #8
    just a quick update, so i couldnt get it to show anymore than 110.7gigs. went back to frys and the guy there hooked it up to his computer and just about had a hissy fit. apparently, they have been having a small rash of laptop hdd from w.d. coming with partitions already on them and have no way of being removed. so, it was replaced and is now on my macbook. the only other problem is, my old hdd, wont mount, so i cant get anything off of it. damn, thats a lot of music and movies i need to put back on my comp. and now i have nothing to back up onto.... son of a bitch.... oh well, worse things have happened. thanks for all the replies and help.
     
  9. Chandler Adaway macrumors 6502a

    Chandler Adaway

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Beaumont, TX
    #9
    That really sucks!
    I've lost all of my music before.
    Took a LONG time to get it all back. :(

    Just curious, but are you http://http://velvetelvis.com/ ?

    If so, I admire your work greatly. I can't get enough of it.
     
  10. velvetelvis thread starter macrumors 6502

    velvetelvis

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
  11. Chandler Adaway macrumors 6502a

    Chandler Adaway

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Beaumont, TX
    #11
    Ah, oops.
    If you didn't notice the name of the link, then it's not you anyways.

    It's just a really good designer.

    She floats around on a lot of forums, so I wasn't sure.

    Sorry about that. :eek:
     
  12. velvetelvis thread starter macrumors 6502

    velvetelvis

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
  13. Chandler Adaway macrumors 6502a

    Chandler Adaway

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Beaumont, TX
    #13
    Well, you won't look like a "he" anyways until the operation.
    But uh, I hope that goes well for you. :confused:
     
  14. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #14
    Try booting from your installer DVD and run Disk Utility to try to Repair your old drive. That might fix it.
     

Share This Page