No HDMI Audio with R9 280X on Mac Pro 5,1 - Asus MX279H

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vadrum, Jan 29, 2016.

  1. vadrum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    #1
    Hi guys!
    Recently, I installed an AMD RADEON R9 280X graphic card on my Mac Pro 5,1 quad-core.
    It works great (and I didn't have to install any driver to make it work) but I'm not able to hear any audio via HDMI. Actually there's no HDMI option in the audio output panel at all.
    I'm using it with an Apple HDMI (black) cable connected to an ASUS MX279H monitor.
    Ah, and my OS is El Capitan 10.11.3
    Any solution?
    --- Post Merged, Jan 29, 2016 ---
    I also tried this method but it didn't work:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/guide-hdmi-audio.1499797/
     
  2. Bytehoven, Jan 29, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2016

    Bytehoven macrumors regular

    Bytehoven

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Location:
    Up Shellpot Creek
    #2
    I was able to get HDMI audio working on my GTX 980 TI/cMP 5,1 but others have had issues. I had success with any program capable of outputting audio, including 5.1 surround from Premiere Pro, QT and several BD Players.

    I recommend a google search on HDMIaudio.kext 1.0 and Kext_Utility.app.v2.6.4. in reference to enabling HDMI on a GPU.

    I tried a couple of methods then had success with Kext.Utility.

    Here is a link to those two files I used but I no longer have the specific instructions for the install.

    http://www.blanca.com/HDMI/

    aside... I bought and have been testing the BlackMagic Intensity Shuttle for HDMI recording and playback. Unfortunately the HDMI protocol used by BlackMagic does not work all receivers, amps, decoders capable of decoding multi channel embedded in HDMI. In my case, it's a top end Yamaha RX-2020 receiver which sees the PCM 7.1 HDMI signal (3/4/0.1)just fine from the 980 Ti, but when using the Intensity Shuttle, it only sees PCM (2/0/---). Weird.
     
  3. vadrum, Jan 29, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2016

    vadrum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    #3
    Thanks but it didn't work...or maybe I'm doing something wrong with that?
    Anyway, when I try to mount the HDMIAudio-1.0-2.dmg file, it appears "image not recognized"...where did you get that website?
    Thanks @Bytehoven!
    --- Post Merged, Jan 29, 2016 ---

    In the meantime I googled that file name and found a working version of it...installed with Kext Utility, rebooted but nothing...still no HDMI option in the audio panel :(
     
  4. Bytehoven macrumors regular

    Bytehoven

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Location:
    Up Shellpot Creek
    #4
    this is a simple question but sometimes over looked... is the HDMI output hooked unto something which supports audio? I assume yes, but just checking.

    I wish I knew exactly why Kext Utility and that HDMIaudio 1.0.kext file worked for me. It would certainly be helpful to anyone else having challenges.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Disable SIP and kext dev mode=1

    Also, if possible, flash the card. My own experience told me that these 3 factors may contribute to no HDMI Audio even though the kext is installed.
     
  6. vadrum, Feb 6, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2016

    vadrum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    #6
    Re-installed the kext, disabled SIP, used command kext dev mode=1 and...voilà, it finally works!!
    Thanks for the help!
    I just have a doubt...is it unsafe now to have the SIP disabled? Is there a way to have this thing working with the SIP enabled?
    Thanks again! :)
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Any OSX before El Capitan don't have SIP. So, if disable SIP is unsafe, that means all OSX apart from El Capitan is unsafe. Of course, you downgraded the security of El Capitan, but personally don't see it as an important issue.
     
  8. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I have the amd r9 380 PC Card and have been told audio over hdmi will not work - unless you can flash it with mac bios (which doesn't exist yet for the 380).
     
  9. vonkas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    #9

    Finally! Current High Sierra Beta - my AMD R9380 works a treat including HDMI audio !!!
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    Natively?
     
  11. vonkas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    #11
    yes. I have a MacPro 5,1 and had bought a Sapphire R9 380 4GB (un-flashed) as my only display card. This out-of-the-box setup worked fine with Yosemite, El Capitan and Sierra with a normal Mac OS installation, no extra drivers. But HDMI sound would not work. Same with the first beta of High Sierra. Yesterday updated to beta 3 and BINGO: HDMI sound works! My Toshiba TV is showing up in the sound menu and was selected by default on reboot.
     

Share This Page