Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

andysh

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 14, 2015
27
11
Hi guys!
Recently, I installed an AMD RADEON R9 280X graphic card on my Mac Pro 5,1 quad-core.
It works great (and I didn't have to install any driver to make it work) but I'm not able to hear any audio via HDMI. Actually there's no HDMI option in the audio output panel at all.
I'm using it with an Apple HDMI (black) cable connected to an ASUS MX279H monitor.
Ah, and my OS is El Capitan 10.11.3
Any solution?
[doublepost=1454110653][/doublepost]I also tried this method but it didn't work:

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/guide-hdmi-audio.1499797/
 

Bytehoven

macrumors regular
Dec 1, 2015
190
69
Up Shellpot Creek
I was able to get HDMI audio working on my GTX 980 TI/cMP 5,1 but others have had issues. I had success with any program capable of outputting audio, including 5.1 surround from Premiere Pro, QT and several BD Players.

I recommend a google search on HDMIaudio.kext 1.0 and Kext_Utility.app.v2.6.4. in reference to enabling HDMI on a GPU.

I tried a couple of methods then had success with Kext.Utility.

Here is a link to those two files I used but I no longer have the specific instructions for the install.

http://www.blanca.com/HDMI/

aside... I bought and have been testing the BlackMagic Intensity Shuttle for HDMI recording and playback. Unfortunately the HDMI protocol used by BlackMagic does not work all receivers, amps, decoders capable of decoding multi channel embedded in HDMI. In my case, it's a top end Yamaha RX-2020 receiver which sees the PCM 7.1 HDMI signal (3/4/0.1)just fine from the 980 Ti, but when using the Intensity Shuttle, it only sees PCM (2/0/---). Weird.
 
Last edited:

andysh

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 14, 2015
27
11
Thanks but it didn't work...or maybe I'm doing something wrong with that?
Anyway, when I try to mount the HDMIAudio-1.0-2.dmg file, it appears "image not recognized"...where did you get that website?
Thanks @Bytehoven!
[doublepost=1454112854][/doublepost]
In the meantime I googled that file name and found a working version of it...installed with Kext Utility, rebooted but nothing...still no HDMI option in the audio panel :(
 
Last edited:

Bytehoven

macrumors regular
Dec 1, 2015
190
69
Up Shellpot Creek
this is a simple question but sometimes over looked... is the HDMI output hooked unto something which supports audio? I assume yes, but just checking.

I wish I knew exactly why Kext Utility and that HDMIaudio 1.0.kext file worked for me. It would certainly be helpful to anyone else having challenges.
 

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
16,615
8,547
Hong Kong
Disable SIP and kext dev mode=1

Also, if possible, flash the card. My own experience told me that these 3 factors may contribute to no HDMI Audio even though the kext is installed.
 

andysh

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 14, 2015
27
11
Disable SIP and kext dev mode=1

Also, if possible, flash the card. My own experience told me that these 3 factors may contribute to no HDMI Audio even though the kext is installed.

Re-installed the kext, disabled SIP, used command kext dev mode=1 and...voilà, it finally works!!
Thanks for the help!
I just have a doubt...is it unsafe now to have the SIP disabled? Is there a way to have this thing working with the SIP enabled?
Thanks again! :)
 
Last edited:

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
16,615
8,547
Hong Kong
Re-installed the kext, disabled SIP, used command kext dev mode=1 and...voilà, it finally works!!
Thanks for the help!
I just have a doubt...is it unsafe now to have the SIP disabled? Is there a way to have this thing working with the SIP enabled?
Thanks again! :)

Any OSX before El Capitan don't have SIP. So, if disable SIP is unsafe, that means all OSX apart from El Capitan is unsafe. Of course, you downgraded the security of El Capitan, but personally don't see it as an important issue.
 

steveOooo

macrumors 6502a
Jun 30, 2008
743
89
UK
I have the amd r9 380 PC Card and have been told audio over hdmi will not work - unless you can flash it with mac bios (which doesn't exist yet for the 380).
 

vonkas

macrumors newbie
Dec 23, 2003
16
4
Hi guys!
Recently, I installed an AMD RADEON R9 280X graphic card on my Mac Pro 5,1 quad-core.
It works great (and I didn't have to install any driver to make it work) but I'm not able to hear any audio via HDMI. Actually there's no HDMI option in the audio output panel at all.
I'm using it with an Apple HDMI (black) cable connected to an ASUS MX279H monitor.
Ah, and my OS is El Capitan 10.11.3
Any solution?
[doublepost=1454110653][/doublepost]I also tried this method but it didn't work:

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/guide-hdmi-audio.1499797/


Finally! Current High Sierra Beta - my AMD R9380 works a treat including HDMI audio !!!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

vonkas

macrumors newbie
Dec 23, 2003
16
4
Natively?
yes. I have a MacPro 5,1 and had bought a Sapphire R9 380 4GB (un-flashed) as my only display card. This out-of-the-box setup worked fine with Yosemite, El Capitan and Sierra with a normal Mac OS installation, no extra drivers. But HDMI sound would not work. Same with the first beta of High Sierra. Yesterday updated to beta 3 and BINGO: HDMI sound works! My Toshiba TV is showing up in the sound menu and was selected by default on reboot.
 
  • Like
Reactions: h9826790
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.