No icon when installing new programs.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by svkrzn, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. svkrzn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #1
    I get this each time i install something new:
    [​IMG]
    So i have to manually remove the icon and drag it again in the apps folder and the icon appears. Is that normal?
     
  2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    Uh, no, that's not normal. (never happens for me - using Leopard)

    Are you looking for a solution? If so, more details are needed.
     
  3. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #3
    That happens to me, it dissapears after I have run the program once, and it only appears for apps installed of the internet.
     
  4. svkrzn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #4
    What details do you need?

    What do you mean by installed of the internet?

    Anyway after you run the program once, then close it, the icon appears. Boring tho..
     
  5. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #5
    I think that should be off, not of the internet.

    Oh boy, what details? ...like any instead of none!

    And, in the same vein as your inability to understand what the other poster wrote, do you mean into instead of in the applications folder?

    The situation described by the other poster provides at least one detail, but probably needs more before anyone can help.
     
  6. svkrzn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #6
    I don't know what details you want, i'll describe my problem better perhaps..
    Using snow leopard on macbook pro 5.3
    Almost every app i install (i mount DMG files and autorun popsup where you can drag n drop the icon into the application folder, i drag it and it's done) if i go to the applications menu (the one near the trash) and open it, the icon of the installed app is blank. This happens for drag n drop installs only.
     
  7. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #7
    Much better. Maybe someone can help now. I don't have SL or a MacBook. It could be a SL bug. You should have specified which release of SL. I hear that Apple is working on 10.6.3 now. (no surprise there)
     
  8. svkrzn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
  9. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #9
    Okay, I have no idea why the other posters were giving you such a hassle over this. What you're experiencing is not a "problem" per say with your OS X install, it's always been like this since Leopard. Most newly installed apps will show the circle with a line through it when using Stacks in Grid View. Launching it and quitting the app several times does nothing. A simple logout and login will restore the icon. I have no idea why Apple hasn't corrected this in Stacks but that's going on and the solution for it.
     
  10. G-Force macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
  11. svkrzn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #11
    Finally a proper answer; thank you!
     
  12. bakerster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #12
    i've got the same "issue?"..

    once I run the program once the app icon shows up no questions asked.
     
  13. svkrzn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #13
    I found a different solution: I drag the app on desktop, then browse the application dir and drag it into. This way the icon is working.
     
  14. atticus18244fsa macrumors 6502

    atticus18244fsa

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, ON
    #14
    Happens for me on Leopard. I thought it was normal?
     
  15. Corrode macrumors 6502a

    Corrode

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #15
    Noticed after 10.6.2 but I might not have used stacks that much until then, so that might be why I hadn't noticed. Either way, the icon appears after a reboot. I wouldn't worry too much about it, although it is an odd problem.
     
  16. Simplicated macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #16
    It's normal.

    The icon was not loaded before it got popped into the Stack, hence it gives a broken app icon.

    Typing "killall Dock" in Terminal fixes this. ;)
     

Share This Page