No iMac on ATV2

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by stump54, Jan 17, 2012.

  1. stump54 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #1
    Had this inside a different thread but thought I'd bring it to the surface...

    Whether or not to hardwire my ATV2 is not my problem as it was done for me when they were upgrading my alarm system so I could use Total Connect (TC). I had some streaming delays so I figured "why not"...

    However, since wiring I can no longer "see" my iMac from the ATV2. When it was still wireless (first month or so) I had no problems and could view my Mac from the comfort of the couch; no longer... Funny thing is that the screen saver (picture from iPhoto) still works.

    Can anyone tell me why this changed? Apple as always impressed me with it's ability to self-configure; why not now? I've tried going into to setup/setting and adding the "address" (not sure the term) but no deal...

    Can anyone help me out?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Mr-Kerrse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Does it still work wirelessly when you disconnect the ethernet cable? If the answer is yes i would say it's an issue with your router. When connecting them to the same network vis ethernet there should be no issues at all.
     
  3. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #3
    The hardwiring may have put you on a different LAN that may be using a different router through TC, and thus you are no longer on the same LAN as your iMac.

    One simple solution is to go back to wireless, or plug your iMac into the same hard wired network.
     
  4. stump54 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #4
    I thought it could be caused by the Alarm setup but as Netflix/YouTube/screensaver (iPhoto pictures) still work through the hardwire connection, I can't understand why everything wouldn't work...

    If I can "draw" the connection picture...

    DSL modem to d-link dir-655 router
    Alarm hardwired to router
    ATV2 hardwired to router
    iMac hardwired to router

    Wireless only for iPads and iPhones...

    The only thing missing (as far as I know) is the ability to "see" my iMac on the TV screen (doesn't show up on ATV screen).
     
  5. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #5
    It looks like you should be on the same Local Area Network and everything should work.

    Try recycling everything and see if it'll work again, and that includes the router to which everything is connected.

    FYI, you could be connected to different routers and all have access to internet, but without opening up ports between routers, you won't have direct access between them, and thus Apple won't be able to recognize each other automatically.
     

Share This Page