No Internet Connection

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by doubledee, Oct 14, 2014.

  1. doubledee macrumors 6502

    doubledee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1
    Something is definitely wrong with my 2012 MBP w Mountain Lion...

    Maybe once a month it throws "fits" where I cannot connect to the Internet via my hot-spot.

    When I open FireFox I get a white screen. (This also usually happens in other browsers.)

    I thought these kinds of issues only happened with Windows...

    And days like today where it says I am connected, when I try and surf the Internet I get no response...

    For example, when I go to Google, type in Yahoo, and then click on the "Mail" link, nothing happens.

    When I clicked on my MacRumors bookmark, same issue?!

    Frustrated,


    Debbie
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    How are you connecting wireless or wired? If wireless please let use know if your are using b, g or n with what security?
     
  3. doubledee thread starter macrumors 6502

    doubledee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    I have an AT&T Hotspot (wireless) here in the U.S.

    I'm not sure what you mean by "b", "g", or "n".

    I usually connect using WiTopia, but the problem exists with or without my VPN on. And, in fact, it may explain why I can almost no longer get WiTopia to work... (I just assumed my problem with with *buggy* FireFox or WiTopia, but considering my newly booted MBP wasn't connecting to the Internet straight up this afternoon, it seems to be a "networking" issue...)

    One thing I have tried that sorta helps is shutting down, logging in under my Admin account, shutting down, and logging back in to my normal account.

    That makes me wonder if there is something wrong with my main user account?

    To be blunt, this entire thing pisses me off to no end!!!

    I just dropped $1,500 on a new MBP in March of 2013 and spent 6 fricking months "hardening" it, and getting it all set up for development and now this?! :mad:

    Sorry, but people who tell me to get a new Mac or upgrade to the newest op sys are full of it!! Or, if they are right, then I give up on computers and will take up some new career and life!! (I switched to Apple because I was sick and tired of this kind of crap with Windows, and I have no tolerance for these kinds of issues on a nearly new computer!!)

    *sigh*


    Debbie
     
  4. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #4
    Hold down your 'option' key will clicking on the wireless icon in the Finder menu and you will see how you are connecting.

    Plus open System Preferences->Network pane, 'Advanced' menu, DNS tab and see if the router is giving you a DNS server. If not then add either Google's DNS or OpenDNS.

    Plus also in the System Preference->Network pane get the router IP of your router and see if you can ping it.
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Does the Internet work properly when logged in to the admin account? If so, that tells you it is something you have configured in your account causing the problem.
     
  6. doubledee thread starter macrumors 6502

    doubledee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    #6
    When I do that I see...
    Code:
    PHY Mode: 802.11n
    BSSID: <code>
    Channel: 11 (2.4Ghz)
    Security: WPA2 Personal
    RSSI: -38
    Transmit Rate: 73
    MCS Index: 7
    


    I have two DNS addies from WiTopia DNS page - not sure who owns them.


    Again, I connect via my AT&T hotpsot so there is no router.


    Debbie
     
  7. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #7
    You are using one if those cheap routers that can't use proper N channels. Then consider get a good dual pane router like the Netgear Nighhawk AC1900 or an Airport Extreme that can do the proper N higher channels.

    IMHO someone really needs to take these cheap router makers to court for false advertising N speeds.
     
  8. doubledee thread starter macrumors 6502

    doubledee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    Why do you keep mentioning router?????????????

    I do NOT own a router.

    I have said twice that I connect my MBP to the Internet through my AT&T Hotspot.


    Debbie
     
  9. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #9
    I said "That router is OLD!!!!" You don't get that your router is CHEAP and WON"T give you the wireless N speeds"

    So you use a HOTSPOT. Please post the HotSPOT model?

    Plus did you try to get into the Hotspot in your web browser to check out it's settings yet?
     
  10. doubledee thread starter macrumors 6502

    doubledee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    #10
    Trolling I see...
     
  11. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #11
    No! Now please stop being difficult and post the model you are using! It will help trying to find a reason of the failure.
     
  12. doubledee thread starter macrumors 6502

    doubledee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    #12
    It looks like I may have solved my problem.

    Turns out the *IDIOTS* at Witopia changed some of their DNS hosts several months ago and didn't bother to tell anyone. (My MBP's DNS was pointed to those servers because I don't trust Google's DNS hosts.)

    Once I updated my Network Settings to point to some current DNS hosts, it not only *appears* to have fixed my browser/Internet issues, but it also fixed my problems with logging into the Witopia app - I have no clue of why the second point is so?!

    It is soooo infuriating that something so simple has brought my VPN and Internet usage to a halt for nearly 6 months!!!

    Live and learn!! :rolleyes:

    Sincerely,


    Debbie
     
  13. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #13
    Debbie I wasn't being difficult. I was trying to help you work through the problem. My previous suggestion of using OpenDNS because IMHO if they are good enough for schools then they are doing something correct. Besides using them you can control your own Internet using their Parental Controls to block known phishing sites, etc. I been using the for years and it has saved my bacon on more than one occasion.
     
  14. doubledee thread starter macrumors 6502

    doubledee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    #14
    Then why did you keep asking me what router I had and talking about routers when I told you I had a laptop and mobile hotspot??


    It appears that in my free time I need to research DNS more.

    From the little reading I did, it appears that DNS is the "weak-link" in privacy for lots of people, AND that finding "private" DNS isn't as easy as I earlier thought.

    For now, though, at least my Internet is working. And what a relief, because my Internet connection has gotten worse and worse over the last 6-8 months and I couldn't figure out what was wrong?! (Thought maybe I needed to throw my near-new MBP in the trash and buy a new one?!)

    Sincerely,


    Debbie
     
  15. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #15
    It really did seem to me satcomer was trying to help you, and for his efforts you called him a troll. I was a bit puzzled by your reaction also. :confused:
     

Share This Page