iPhone 8(+) No internet with LTE disabled

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dennysanders, Apr 8, 2018.

  1. dennysanders macrumors 6502

    dennysanders

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon
    #1
    For the last month or so I've had extremely poor LTE service at my home. So, I turn it off to just use 4G and the device tells me I have no internet connection. Anyone else experiencing this?
     
  2. Reno Raines macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    #2
    Not for me. I had to disable LTE at a sporting event the other day as it was unusable due to the crowd. It fell back to 4g HSPA and the internet worked fine.
     
  3. mrochester macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #3
    LTE is 4G. If you’ve turned off 4G/LTE then your phone will be using 3G or HSDPA. This is much lower bandwidth and more contentious so you’ll notice a much slower/less responsive connection.
     
  4. Reno Raines macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    #4
    On T Mobile if you turn off LTE it says 4g. I think ATT does this as well. It was how T Mobile claimed 4g before they could deploy LTE. I think 3g and 4g then are the same thing one is just a lot more honest than the other.
     
  5. JPack macrumors 68040

    JPack

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #5
    If you turn off LTE, you will be on 3G.

    Some carriers like Verizon are shutting down 3G coverage to shift bandwidth to LTE.
     
  6. Reno Raines macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    #6

    Some are doing this with 2g as well. I saw where Verizon will decommission their CDMA network by the end of 2019. Yeah T mobile calls their 3g 4g and LTE is LTE. It is a shell game.
     
  7. dennysanders thread starter macrumors 6502

    dennysanders

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    So when I disable LTE, why does my status bar change to “4G” with full bars? And then when I attempt to use an app that requires internet, I’m alerted that I must connect to WiFi or cellular data. Restored and the issue remains the same. Sounds like Apple will be giving me a new device. Woohoo!!!
     
  8. JPack macrumors 68040

    JPack

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #8
    I would try calling your carrier to see if they have an answer. Getting a refurbished replacement device from Apple would not be my first choice.
     
  9. dennysanders thread starter macrumors 6502

    dennysanders

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    They’re not refurbished. Don’t believe everything you read online.
     
  10. FunkyTang macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #10
    Sorry you’re wrong Einestein. At least on AT&T...
     

    Attached Files:

  11. George Knighton macrumors 65816

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #11
    AT&T and T-Mobile used a data speed definition of "4G" that allowed them to claim 4G speeds for some of their best performing WCDMA 3G arrays, so they show "4G" when you are on one of those arrays even if it is not LTE.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 9, 2018 ---
    In some parts of my T-Mobile coverage area, if I shut off LTE I will have no Internet connection.

    This is because Band 12 allowed T-Mobile a huge and radical expansion of coverage area.

    It's possible you're in a place with only one bar of 2G service when you turn off LTE.

    That's just a guess based on what I know about some of my own T-Mobile coverage area.

    My coverage area is generally about what it needs to be, but only with LTE turned on. :)
    --- Post Merged, Apr 9, 2018 ---
    Just to experiment, I turned off LTE in my location where I'm in the field right now.

    Without LTE, I fell back to a nominal EDGE system that provided zero effective connectivity, and would error out in Open Signal tests.
     
  12. ZipZap macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
  13. JPack, Apr 9, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2018

    JPack macrumors 68040

    JPack

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #13
    It's been 6 months since iPhone 8 launch and they're not refurbished? The model number on replacement devices starts with a different letter to indicate as such.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 9, 2018 ---
    When iPhone 4s launched, AT&T called it a 4G device.

    In fact, AT&T worked with Apple to change the status bar so it reads 4G.

    --- Post Merged, Apr 9, 2018 ---
    Yes, this is correct. In short, every carrier has a different definition of 4G. Basically, anything faster than plain 3G can be called 4G.
     
  14. dennysanders thread starter macrumors 6502

    dennysanders

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    Of course there are refurbished 8s. Those aren't given out as replacement devices though.
     
  15. JPack macrumors 68040

    JPack

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #15
    So what do you think Apple does with those refurbished devices?
     
  16. dennysanders thread starter macrumors 6502

    dennysanders

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon
    #16
    I'm not sure what they do with them. Apple employees are told that replacement devices are not refurbished. So, I guess your inside info is a bit deeper than mine.
     
  17. JPack macrumors 68040

    JPack

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #17
    Inside info isn't required when Apple's own warranty terms says they can:

    "replace the Apple Product with the same model (or with your consent a product that has similar functionality) formed from new and/or previously used parts that are equivalent to new in performance and reliability"​

    There are several public cases where consumers have filed lawsuits against Apple for replacing their device with a refurbished one.

    Dutch court rules that Apple cannot supply ‘refurbished or remanufactured’ iPads as warranty replacements

    If replacement products were brand new, Apple wouldn't need a different model number for those units.
     
  18. dennysanders thread starter macrumors 6502

    dennysanders

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon
    #18
    Lawsuits are filed because consumers are dumb and believe whatever they read online.
     
  19. rockitdog macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #19
    “4G” for at&t and T-Mobile is HSPA+ which is really more like 3G+. It’s all marketing crap.
     
  20. JPack macrumors 68040

    JPack

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #20
    I guess Apple is dumber for admitting in court they give customers refurbished replacement devices.
     
  21. dennysanders thread starter macrumors 6502

    dennysanders

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon
    #21
    check and mate

    Anyways, what ended up happening was I received a new or refurbished device and a new SIM card that are working out much better than the original combo I had. We couldn't duplicate my issue in the apple store. What I came to figure out was that if my device automatically switched to "4G" from LTE and then I went into settings to disable my LTE manually, my cellular data worked just fine, as you'd expect. It only told me I had no connection at all if I shut off my LTE in settings while my status bar still read "LTE" in the corner. In the Apple store, the device was auto switching to "4G" so it never happened in front of the genius. And with a different iPhone and SIM card, I have the exact same issue! But it's not as big of a deal because I now have better LTE service at home (which was the original problem that led to finding this weird glitch) and when the LTE connection does become weak, the device automatically switches to "4G," which it had not been doing in this specific location.

    Apple told me it was definitely a carrier issue. AT&T claimed the opposite. Of course. After getting the new SIM, I went back to apple and they replaced my phone. But, I only tested the glitch after changing the SIM cards so I'm not sure if it's the new device or SIM card that is giving me a +2 bars better connection at home now.
     

Share This Page