No longer have internet after porting number to Orange UK

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by laser345, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. laser345 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #1
    Since I'm no longer in contract with o2 I decided to switch to an Orange SIM-only package as their 3G coverage is better. I wanted to take my number with me so I requested my PAC code from o2 and gave it to Orange. After 3 days my number was ported to Orange and my o2 SIM card stopped working. All working correctly? Wrong! Ever since my number ported across I have lost all internet connectivity (GPRS/3G).

    I've spoken several times with Orange customer services and iPhone technical support and apparently it's a widespread problem that users who port to Orange from other networks lose access to the internet. Unfortunately they have no idea when/if the problem will be fixed or even what is causing it.

    So this post is just a warning to maybe think twice before porting your number to Orange, at least until they've fixed the problem. Such a shame as I now have 3G signal almost everywhere I go!
     
  2. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
  3. laser345 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #3
    The APN is configured automatically by the .ipcc file downloaded via iTunes. On Orange UK the 'Cellular Data Network' menu is hidden so you can't even access any of the settings.

    I've also performed a full restore on the phone which didn't fix the problem either.
     
  4. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #4
    There's a similar well-known affliction when porting to Vodafone, except it's in relation to the voicemail. Some have to wait weeks for it to be fixed. I was lucky and it "fixed itself" 24 hours later.

    Some folk recommend manually selecting a wrong network (like T-mobile for Orangenies or O2 for Vodafonics); waiting a cxouple of minutes for the error message and then switching back to automatic. It didn't work instantly for me, but it might be the reason my voicemail kicked in the next day...or maybe not.

    :confused:
     
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    Ah, but was the Orange .ipcc installed? If it's still got the O2 APN configuration, then you won't be able to access Orange's network. My guess is that it's an APN problem in any case.

    Also? If you jailbreak you can reenable the APN menu. That would allow you to at least check for yourself that it's using the right file.
     
  6. laser345 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #6
    Thanks for the suggestion, I'll give it a go and report back.

    I'm pretty sure the Orange .ipcc file is installed correctly. When you look under the General-About menu it shows Orange UK 5.1 as the carrier. Also before my number was ported across I had a temporary number on the same SIM card and the internet worked just fine. It was only after the porting took place that the internet stopped working.
     
  7. laser345 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #7
    Incredible! I gave it a go and now the internet works, almost immediately after! That's the last time I spend hours on the phone to technical support getting nowhere when you guys came up with a solution in minutes!

    Thanks!
     
  8. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
  9. michaelkc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #9
    Funnily enough I've done the same thing now!

    I'm currently in the transition between O2 to Orange. The number hasn't changed yet but I think it will tomorrow. Though I've used the Orange sim and never gotten a 3G icon on the phone.

    I was going to wait till the number transferred and if I never resolved itself, I would go to the shop and ask why.

    My iTunes updated the settings so I'll have to check for 3G in the coming days.
     
  10. CkB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    #10
    I'm in the same boat except I did an Orange to Orange number migration (PAYG to Sim Only), I didn't take my O2 number, just my O2 iPhone.

    After SO much grief (resetting network settings, making sure I've deleted old APN settings that I'd downloaded and stored, dicking about switching between SIMs to fix stuff) - I've got it all working apart from 3G.

    Looks like I'm going to have to book into Apple and Orange and go have it out with them. Before I did, I was wondering if Michael you got anywhere with your 3G and how you cured it please?

    Cheers,

    Chris B.
     

Share This Page