No longer place people on hold?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Screwtape, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. Screwtape macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    #1
    The new Facetime button replaces the Hold button that has been there previously, which begs the question, can we no longer place people on hold?

    It seems like a pretty basic function to be completely removed...


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Tara Luvs Apple macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #2
    Well, it only goes for people who have iPhone 4. It may still be there for those who do not.
     
  3. sjsharks13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #3
    thats a really good question, I am guessing that if you are on 3G that the button will not show. I dont think Apple would be stupid enough to remove the hold option entirely.
     
  4. AbjectEvolution macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #4
    All this time... I never even realized there was a hold button there. I have never used it.
     
  5. Tara Luvs Apple macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #5
    Me too!! :D
     
  6. Mkz macrumors regular

    Mkz

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    Can't say I've ever needed to put someone on hold personally.

    Well spotted.
     
  7. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #7
    For once someone on his forum have made a useful observation!
     
  8. William Gates macrumors 6502

    William Gates

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #8
    I'm sure that the only time the video call icon will come up is if you're on the phone with someone that is able to receive, ie has an iPhone 4 and is on wifi.

    BTW, I always wished they did more with the hold, like create custom playlists to play while you put someone on hold.
     
  9. splashnader macrumors 6502a

    splashnader

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Via Satellite
    #9
    It was bound to happen sooner or later. :rolleyes:
     
  10. Screwtape thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    #10
    Still, what if you want to put someone with an iPhone 4 on hold?
     
  11. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #11
    Mute button will save the same purpose.

    "Add call" is still there, but how would I merge when I am on a call? I use these features, and Apple better provide me another way to access them.
     
  12. csoup223 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #12
    I also had this same question, and I'm glad someone else was wondering too. With the new iPhones arriving I'm surprised we haven't gotten an answer to this yet.
     
  13. me2000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008

Share This Page