No love between Airport Extreme and XP Pro

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Mac-Addict, May 4, 2007.

  1. Mac-Addict macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    My Airport Extreme works fine with my wireless XP laptop but when I try but when I try to connect to my Airport Extreme on my MBP (under bootcamp) windows keeps telling me its 'Acquiring network address' but works under OSX. So I have to plug in by ethernet..
     
  2. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Just set the ip address manually.

     
  3. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #3
    I had this issue using WEP on my AEBS - for some reason Windows thought it was WPA and I would guess couldn't ever connect. I just switched the router to use WPA2 Personal and all was good.
     
  4. Mac-Addict thread starter macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I changed it from WEP to WAP2 Personal but now it just says "Windows is unable connect to the selected network. The network may no longer be in range, Please refresh the list of available networks, and try to connect again." So I refresh and try again.. same message comes back up.
     
  5. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #5
    Did you have to reenter the key? If not, try removing it from your preferred networks and add it back.
     
  6. Mac-Addict thread starter macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    It hasn't asked my to enter a key it just came up with the error message..
     
  7. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #7
  8. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #8
    Try downloading the WPA2 hotfix from Windows. That will make it so Windows XP can read WPA2 encryption.
     

Share This Page